E. H. Butler Library Buffalo State College

Library Databases

Troubleshooting Tips (PDF)
More ways to Find Articles

1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Full List
Search all database titles and descriptions (no special characters allowed):    

Full List


Buffalo State login and password required  19th Century British Pamphlets (from JSTOR)
A collection that will include more than 20,000 pamphlets from 19th Century Britain covering many subject areas. To search the pamphlet collection, enter the JSTOR database, choose “Advanced Search” option, and check the “Pamphlet” box.
Buffalo State login and password required  A to Z Maps Online
Thousands of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Includes political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps.
Buffalo State login and password required  Academic OneFile
Journal articles on a wide range of topics.
Buffalo State login and password required  Academic Search Complete
Journal articles on a wide range of topics. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  ACLS Humanities E-Book
Searchable collection of over 2,200 academic electronic books, covering many aspects of history and the humanities (mid 1800s – present).
Buffalo State login and password required  African American Experience Resource contains audio
Multiple resources, including reference books, primary documents, classic texts, and more, covering all aspects of African American culture and history.
Buffalo State login and password required  African American Song Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of thousands of historical music tracks covering a variety of genres. Note: Is now part of the American Song database. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  Agricola
Note: Database no longer available. To search for agriculture journals, use Web of Science (1970 – present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Alt HealthWatch
Journals, magazines, and other material on alternative health care and wellness. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Aluka Resource contains images
Online library of documents and digital images of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
Buffalo State login and password required  America: History and Life
Journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and more about the U.S. and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Buffalo State login and password required  American Chemical Society Web Editions
Searchable database of journals published by the American Chemical Society.
Buffalo State login and password required  American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, 4th ed.
A major English language dictionary. Provided by NOVELny.
Buffalo State login and password required  American History in Video Resource contains video
This growing collection features thousands of hours of material from the History Channel, Bullfrog Films, PBS, 1940s & 1950s newsreels, archival and public affairs footage, documentaries, and more. Covers American history from the early history of Native Americans through 1988.
Buffalo State login and password required  American Song Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of American music covering genres such as country, folk, blues, bluegrass, early jazz, Native American, old time, gospel, and more; over 57,000 tracks. Note: Now contains the African American Song database. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  Anthropology Plus
Index to journal articles in all areas of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, and folklore from the late-nineteenth-century to the present.
Buffalo State login and password required  AnthroSource
Peer reviewed journals, newsletters, and bulletins published by the American Anthropological Association.
Buffalo State login and password required  AP Images Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Photos, graphics, and audio from the Associated Press.
Buffalo State login and password required  Applied Science & Technology Abstracts
Periodical articles about computer science, engineering, food industry, physics, textile industry, applied mathematics, and more (1983 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  ArchiveGrid
Searchable database of descriptions of archival holdings in libraries, museums, and other organizations. Contact information included.
Buffalo State login and password required  Art Abstracts
Includes topics in fine arts, architecture, art history, fashion design, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  ArticleFirst
Provides access to citations to articles in nearly 12,000 magazines and journals, covering virtually every subject area including psychology, since 1990.
Buffalo State login and password required  ArticlesOnlineFAST
Serves as an introductory source for quick retrieval of a few full-text articles in many subject areas.
Buffalo State login and password required  Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work. This database is known online as Web of Science (1970 – present).
Buffalo State login and password required  ARTstor Resource contains images
Digital images and information about works of visual art, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design from many times and cultures. For more information, also see An Introduction to ARTstor.
  ArXiv
Over 500,000 scholarly research papers covering physics, computer sciences, mathematics, statistics, and quantitative biology.
Buffalo State login and password required  AskART Resource contains images
Database of over 50,000 American artists, including biographies and images of paintings. Also contains a glossary, art topic essays, and information on art museums, galleries, auction houses, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Associates Programs Source
Journals and magazines covering a wide range of programs of technical study in the sciences, arts, and social sciences. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Atlanta Constitution (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945).
Buffalo State login and password required  Bengal Central Search
Search a wide range of databases plus the library catalog all at once with one results list.
Buffalo State login and password required  Biological and Agricultural Index
Popular and scholarly periodicals.
Buffalo State login and password required  BioOne Abstracts and Indexes
Keyword and subject search engine for BioOne, which includes research journals focused on biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. For browsing of journal titles, link to BioOne.
Buffalo State login and password required  Birds of North America Online Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada, with images and recordings of bird songs and calls.
Buffalo State login and password required  Book Index with Reviews
Information on millions of books, in-print and out-of-print, including fiction and non-fiction titles in all genres, many with full-text reviews.
Buffalo State login and password required  Books in Print (use Book Index with Reviews)

Buffalo State login and password required  Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Los Angeles Times (1872-1926).
Buffalo State login and password required  Buffalo News
Search for articles from November 1, 1992 through the present in Lexis Nexis, or search the paper's home page.
Buffalo State login and password required  Business and Company Resource Center
Company and industry information along with scholarly and general business periodicals.
Buffalo State login and password required  Business Source Complete
Full-text articles from scholarly and general business periodicals. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Cabell's Educational Directory
Directory of journals in education with detailed information on submitting manuscripts (select Member Area tab to access the directory).
Buffalo State login and password required  CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) Resource contains images
A growing collection of paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture, drawings, architecture, textiles, decorative arts and more, from prominent art museums (including the Albright-Knox). Images from many cultures and time periods are available.
  Canadian Encyclopedia
Online version of standard reference source. Includes a youth encyclopedia and the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada.
Buffalo State login and password required  Canadian Reference Centre
Magazines, newspapers, news wires, and reference sources from or about Canada. Provided by SUNYConnect.
  CBIR Online
Creativity Based Information Resources includes annotated records of books, articles, dissertations, videos, and other works focusing on rncreativity.
  Central Referral Service
Database of Western New York health and human service organizations.
Buffalo State login and password required  Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986).
Buffalo State login and password required  Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Thousands of full-text reviews of children's books. Link to the Children's Literature home page for information on authors and illustrators, teaching materials, book awards, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Choice Reviews Online
Over 100,000 reviews of books, media, electronic sources, and other material from the journal Choice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries (September 1988 – present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Christian Science Monitor (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Christian Science Monitor (1908-1996).
Buffalo State login and password required  Chronicle of Higher Education
Search for articles from September 1997 to the present in LexisNexis.
  Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Library of Congress site providing digital access to historic U.S. newspapers, including ethnic, African American, and Native American papers, from eleven states (including New York) and the District of Columbia. Coverage is from 1880-1922, and by 2011, will reach back to 1836.
Buffalo State login and password required  CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Health and nursing periodicals, mostly academic (provided by SUNYConnect).
Buffalo State login and password required  Citation Indexes
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles in all subject areas. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work. This database is known online as Web of Science (1970 – present).
Buffalo State login and password required  ClasePeriodica
Index of articles written in Spanish, French, Portuguese, and English from Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences, humanities, science, and technology (mid-1970s - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Classical Music Library Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of classical music, including opera, chamber, orchestra, vocal & choral, and more; over 55,000 tracks. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  Classical Scores Library
A growing database of classical music scores from both in-copyright sources and the public domain. Time periods span the Renaissance to the present. Includes full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and more. Genres covered include symphonies, operas, quartets, concertos. Note: Search this together with streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
  CollegeSource Online
College catalogs available on campus only.
Buffalo State login and password required  Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
An index of poems along with biographies, commentaries, and the full text of 250,000 poems.
Buffalo State login and password required  ComDisDome: Communication Sciences and Disorders
Journal articles, books, dissertations, Web sites, and institutions in speech-language pathology and audiology.
Buffalo State login and password required  Communication & Mass Media Complete
Journals covering all areas of communication and mass media studies.
Buffalo State login and password required  Company Dossiers from LexisNexis Academic
Summary and financial information about companies, with some stock information and current news items included. Searchable by company name, ticker symbol, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Company Profiles from Business Source Complete
In-depth reports on over 17,000 domestic and global companies, prepared by Datamonitor and Life Science Analytics.
Buffalo State login and password required  Company Profiles from LexisNexis Academic
Directory-style listings about U.S. public and private companies, and international companies. Searchable by company name, ticker symbol, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Computer Source
Journals and magazines covering technical, academic, and consumer-related computer science topics. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
Academic and professional journals covering research and development in computing and applied sciences. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Contemporary World Music Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of over 20,000 music tracks -- both contemporary and traditional -- from many countries and cultures. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  Country Reports from Business Source Complete
Over 1,500 reports outlining business and economic conditions in many countries.
Buffalo State login and password required  CountryWatch
News and information on countries of the world.
  County and City Data Book: 2007
Collection of statistics for U.S. counties and cities.
Buffalo State login and password required  CQ Almanac Online
Original accounts and summaries, in yearbook format, of major legislation considered in U. S. Congressional sessions, 1945 - one year ago.
Buffalo State login and password required  CQ Researcher
In-depth reports on current and controversial issues.
Buffalo State login and password required  CQ Weekly
Weekly report covering actions, deliberations, and legislation from both houses of the U.S. Congress (Oct. 1983 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Peer reviewed articles covering subjects such as criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, policing, forensic psychology, and domestic violence.
Buffalo State login and password required  Custom Newspapers
A collection of national and international newspapers. Provided by NOVELny.
Buffalo State login and password required  Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online
Over 140,000 profiles of authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights; includes biographical information and critical responses to the authors' works. Additional essays focus on literary topics and publishing houses. Note: To cross-search this database with Literature Criticism Online and Something About the Author Online, click here.
  Discovery Education Streaming Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Educational videos in many subjects, available for viewing and downloading. Also includes some image and sound files. Create an account/learn more (Internet Explorer users must type "BSCLOGON\" before the user name).
Buffalo State login and password required  Dissertations (see WorldCat Dissertations and Theses)

Buffalo State login and password required  Early English Books Online (EEBO) Resource contains images
Digital facsimiles of over 100,000 works on many subjects written in English from 1473-1700.
Buffalo State login and password required  EBSCO Animals (Encyclopedia of Animals)
Note: No longer available as a separate database. Encyclopedia of Animals is now contained within the database Primary Search.
Buffalo State login and password required  EconLit
Subject indexing and abstracts of journals, dissertations, books, and working papers.
Buffalo State login and password required  Education Research Complete
Indexes over 1,800 journals, with full text for over 1000 journals, in all areas of education. Includes full text for more than 130 books and numerous education-related conference papers. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Peer reviewed articles covering all areas of education.
Buffalo State login and password required  eHRAF Archaeology
Cross-cultural database of information covering the archaeological history of cultures and traditions worldwide.
Buffalo State login and password required  eHRAF World Cultures (formerly eHRAF Ethnography)
Cross-cultural database containing books, articles, and dissertations on all aspects of cultural and social life worldwide.
Buffalo State login and password required  Electronic Collections Online
Scholarly journals in a wide range of disciplines (1995 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Emerald Fulltext
Business and management journals.
Buffalo State login and password required  Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
Spanish language version of World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia, appropriate for ages 11-14.
Buffalo State login and password required  Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Resource contains video
Encyclopedia entries and articles, plus videos, an atlas, timelines, quotations, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Encyclopedia of Archaeology
Academic encyclopedia from Elsevier/Academic Press.
Buffalo State login and password required  Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences
Academic encyclopedia from Elsevier/Academic Press.
Buffalo State login and password required  Encyclopedia of Parasitology, 3rd Edition
Academic encyclopedia from the Springer Company.
Buffalo State login and password required  Environment and Energy (E&E) Publishing
News coverage and reports of environmental and energy politics and policy. Suite of services includes Environment & Energy Daily, E&E News PM, Greenwire, Climatewire, Land Letter.
Buffalo State login and password required  Environment Complete
Journals and magazines covering the scientific and social aspects of environmental studies. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  ERIC
Citations and abstracts in education; also available through the U.S. Department of Education (provided by SUNYConnect).
Buffalo State login and password required  Ethnic Newswatch
Newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Spanish language version also available.
Buffalo State login and password required  Faulkner's Advisory for Information Technologies Studies
Specialized reports, technology tutorials, product reviews, and more covering many aspects of information technology.
Buffalo State login and password required  Faulkner's Security Management Practices
Specialized reports on many aspects of security: electronic, personnel, physical, and information technology.
  FDsys (Federal Digital System of the U.S. Government Printing Office)
Web sites containing documents and information published by the U.S. federal government. Throughout 2009, information will migrate to FDsys from the old GPO Access system.
Buffalo State login and password required  Films On Demand Resource contains video
Over 5,000 academic-level educational streaming videos covering most subject areas, from Films Media Group.
Buffalo State login and password required  FOODnetBASE
Reference books covering topics in food science.
Buffalo State login and password required  Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia entries and articles.
Buffalo State login and password required  Gale Virtual Reference Library
Dozens of standard, academic reference sources on a variety of topics.
Buffalo State login and password required  Gateway to the Classics
Text from over 200 major works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science.
Buffalo State login and password required  GenderWatch
Historical and current perspectives on gender issues (1970 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  GeoRef
Comprehensive geoscience database produced by the American Geological Institute.
Buffalo State login and password required  GeoScienceWorld
Searchable database of scholarly journals in the geosciences.
Buffalo State login and password required  Global Road Warrior
Information about all countries of the world. Includes topics such as business culture, society and culture, communications, travel essentials, climate, maps, essential terms, and much more.
  Google Books (Beta)
Search the full text of millions of books - some books include previews, partial content, or full content. Includes over 130,000 public domain books.
  GPO Access
Web sites containing documents and information published by the U.S. federal government. Throughout 2009, this information will migrate to the new site FDsys.
Buffalo State login and password required  GPO Monthly Catalog (Government Printing Office)
Index to over 500,000 U.S. federal government documents from 1976 to the present. Includes links to the full text of some of the documents.
Buffalo State login and password required  GreenFILE
Popular and scholarly periodicals covering all aspects of the human impact on the environment.
Buffalo State login and password required  Grolier Online
Collection of encyclopedias including Encyclopedia Americana (general), Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia (middle school level and above), New Book of Knowledge (elementary school level and above), Grolier Online Kids (elementary and middle school level), plus dictionaries including American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, 4th ed. dictionaries for children, Roget's II New Thesaurus, and an atlas. Provided by NOVELny.
Buffalo State login and password required  Grove Art Online (Now contained in Oxford Art Online) Resource contains images

Buffalo State login and password required  Grove Music Online (Now contained in Oxford Music Online)

Buffalo State login and password required  HarpWeek Resource contains images
Browse or search the full-text, full-image electronic version of Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1865, covering the Civil War.
Buffalo State login and password required  Hartford Courant (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Hartford Courant (1764-1984).
Buffalo State login and password required  Health and Wellness Resource Center
Magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and information on topics including fitness, pregnancy, diseases, medicine, nutrition, alcohol and drug abuse, herbal remedies, and alternative treatments.
Buffalo State login and password required  Health Source: Consumer Edition
Consumer health information from periodicals, pamphlets, and reference books. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Health Source: Nursing/Academic
Provides text for nearly 270 health periodicals, over 1,000 health pamphlets, and 23 health reference books. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  HeinOnline
Collection of legal research materials, including law journals and coverage of the Supreme Court, Federal Register, and Treaties and Agreements.
Buffalo State login and password required  Historical Abstracts
Periodical articles, books, and dissertations about world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
Buffalo State login and password required  Hoover's
Information on more than 12 million U. S. and non-U. S. companies, industries, and executives.
Buffalo State login and password required  Horn Book Guide
Reviews of books for children and young adults (1989 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism (1965 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  HRAF Archaeology (see eHRAF Archaeology)

Buffalo State login and password required  HRAF World Cultures (see eHRAF World Cultures)

Buffalo State login and password required  Humanities E-Book (see ACLS Humanities E-Book)

Buffalo State login and password required  Humanities International Complete
Covers journals and other important resources in the humanities. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Industry Profiles from Business Source Complete
Over 17,000 industry reports prepared by Datamonitor and Icon Group International.
Buffalo State login and password required  Informe
Articles from Spanish language and bilingual periodicals (1994 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Institute of Physics Journals (see IOPscience [Institute of Physics])

Buffalo State login and password required  International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
Journal articles and books on all aspects of theater and performance worldwide.
Buffalo State login and password required  International Critical Tables of Numerical Data, Physics, Chemistry and Technology
Contains an enormous amount of critical data on inorganic and organic compounds and pure substances.
Buffalo State login and password required  International Financial Statistics
Financial statistics from the International Monetary Fund covering over 200 countries.
Buffalo State login and password required  International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
Articles from popular and scholarly music and music education periodicals.
Buffalo State login and password required  IOPscience (Institute of Physics)
Database of articles from over 50 journals published by the Institute of Physics from 1874 to the present.
Buffalo State login and password required  IPA Source
A library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
Buffalo State login and password required  Jazz Music Library Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of over 26,000 jazz music tracks, featuring many major artists, with genres ranging from early jazz to avant- garde. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  JSTOR
Archive of back issues from scholarly journals in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Buffalo State login and password required  Knovel Critical Tables
Contains interactive tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties.
Buffalo State login and password required  Kraus Curriculum Development Library
Curricula, frameworks and standards for educators in all subjects at all grade levels. Many are available full-text online, all are on microfiche in Media Services.
Buffalo State login and password required  LegalTrac
Indexes law reviews, bar association journals, and other legal periodicals (1980 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  LexisNexis Academic
News, business, legal, and reference information from periodicals, wire service reports, news broadcasts, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Topics include librarianship, online information retrieval, cataloging, information management, and more (mid-1960s - present). Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Literary Market Place
Directory of the international book publishing industry.
Buffalo State login and password required  Literary Reference Center
Information from literary journals, reference works and books which provide biographical and critical analysis of thousands of literary figures and their writings.
Buffalo State login and password required  Literature Criticism Online
Biographical and critical analysis of literary figures and their writings from all time periods. Note: To cross-search this database with Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Something About the Author Online, click here.
Buffalo State login and password required  Literature Resource Center
Biographical, bibliographical, and critical analysis of literary figures and their writings from all time periods.
Buffalo State login and password required  Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986).
Buffalo State login and password required  Major Non-U.S. Newspapers from LexisNexis
Over 75 major English language newspapers and periodicals published outside the U.S. For more non-U.S. newspapers, use Non-U.S. Newspapers and Wires from LexisNexis, over 900 English language newspapers and wire services published outside the U.S.
Buffalo State login and password required  Major U.S. Newspapers from LexisNexis
Over 35 English language newspapers published in the United States that are listed in the top 50 in circulation in Editor and Publisher Year Book. For a more comprehensive collection, use U.S. Newspapers and Wires, covering over 500 publications, including newspapers published in the U.S. and wire services with 60% or more content originating in the U.S.
  Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction, comprised of books and journals. The library is divided into two distinct, searchable collections: one at Cornell University, and the other at the University of Michigan.
Buffalo State login and password required  Market Research Reports from Business Source Complete
Over 2,000 market research reports arranged in 12 broad topic areas.
Buffalo State login and password required  Marquis Who's Who on the Web
Over one million biographies of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor.
Buffalo State login and password required  Martindale-Hubbell
Legal reference source, including directories of lawyers, law firms, law schools, legal associations, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  MAS Ultra - School Edition
General interest and current events magazines as well as reference sources for high school students.
Buffalo State login and password required  MasterFILE Premier
Periodical articles on all topics plus short biographies, contemporary primary source documents, images, and information from reference sources. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  MathSciNet
Index of mathematics journals (1940-present).
Buffalo State login and password required  MEDLINE with Full Text
Journals published internationally covering all areas of medicine. Provided by SUNYConnect. Also available through PubMed.
Buffalo State login and password required  Mental Measurements Yearbook
Information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering education, psychology, personality, and vocational aptitude.
  Merriam-Webster Online
Abridged English-language dictionary and thesaurus.
  Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Resource contains images
6000 images arranged in 15 categories with over 20,000 terms with contextual definitions.
Buffalo State login and password required  Military and Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government with full text for nearly 400 periodicals. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  MLA Directory of Periodicals
Directory of periodicals covered in the MLA International Bibliography.
Buffalo State login and password required  MLA International Bibliography
Modern Language Association database of journal articles, books, and more pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore (1926 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Morningstar Investment Research Center (On-campus access)
Research on over 20,000 stocks and mutual funds. Click here for off-campus access.
Buffalo State login and password required  Music Online Listening Resource contains audio
Comprehensive digital online collection of over 200,000 music tracks and sheet music files. Includes the following sources: American Song/African American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music Library and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Buffalo State login and password required  Naxos Music Library Resource contains audio
Includes a variety of genres including classical, jazz, world/folk, and new age, with liner notes and background information.
  NCJRS Database
Searchable collection of over 3500 full-text documents, plus 190,000 article and document abstracts, from the National Criminal Justice Reference Service database and library.
Buffalo State login and password required  netLibrary
Search the contents of thousands of books online.
Buffalo State login and password required  New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
The major academic encyclopedia of economics.
  New York Heritage Digital Collections Resource contains images
A gateway to hundreds of digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives about New York State's people, places, and institutions for anyone interested in the Empire State's history.
Buffalo State login and password required  New York State Newspapers
A select group of newspapers from New York State. Provided by NOVELny.
Buffalo State login and password required  New York Times
Search for articles from June 1, 1980 through the present in Lexis Nexis, or search the New York Times database of selected full-text (material from 1851-1922 and 1987 to present is free of charge. Some material from 1923-1986 is free).
Buffalo State login and password required  New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the New York Times (1851-2006).
Buffalo State login and password required  Newspaper Source Plus
Articles from U.S. and international newspapers and newswires. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Non-English Language Major World Publications from LexisNexis
Over 30 non-English full-text newspapers, magazines and trade publications from around the world that are relied upon for the accuracy and integrity of their reporting. For a more comprehensive collection, use Non-English Language News, World Library from LexisNexis, over 550 non English language news sources.
  NOVELny
The New York Online Virtual Electronic Library provides a variety of resources including articles, books, and reference sources. Free access is available to anyone with a New York State driver’s license, New York State non-driver’s photo ID, or a public library card.
Buffalo State login and password required  OAIster Resource contains images Resource contains video
Index to multidisciplinary digital resources from over 1,000 open archive collections. Formats include digitized books, images, audio, video, and datasets. Links provide access to many of the digital objects.
Buffalo State login and password required  Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Presents opposing views on a wide range of social issues.
Buffalo State login and password required  OriginalSources
Original source documents in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences written by original thinkers and experts throughout the ages.
Buffalo State login and password required  Oxford Art Online/Grove Art Online Resource contains images
Art reference sources including Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia covering visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present.
Buffalo State login and password required  Oxford English Dictionary
The authority on the evolution of English language over the last millennium with definitions, history, and pronunciation of words.
Buffalo State login and password required  Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Bilingual dictionaries, grammar guidance, pronunciation charts, and more for six languages. Other languages will be added in the future.
Buffalo State login and password required  Oxford Music Online
Music reference sources including Grove Music Online, an encyclopedia covering all aspects of music worldwide.
Buffalo State login and password required  Oxford Reference Online Premium
Database of over 120 reference books on many topics.
Buffalo State login and password required  PapersFirst
Index of over six million papers presented at conferences worldwide (1993-present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Peer Reviewed Articles EZ
Serves as an introductory source for quick retrieval of a few citations, many with full-text availability, from peer reviewed journals in many subject areas.
Buffalo State login and password required  Philosopher's Index
Journal articles and books in philosophy and related fields.
Buffalo State login and password required  Points of View Reference Center
Essays and articles that present multiple sides of current issues. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Primary Search
Articles from children's magazines appropriate for elementary school level. Provided by NOVELny.
  PrimateLit
A bibliographic database of the scientific literature on nonhuman primates, including citations to articles, books, technical reports, and more (1940 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  ProceedingsFirst
Index of published worldwide conference proceedings (1993-present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Project MUSE
Scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
Buffalo State login and password required  ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable database that includes full-text articles from nine newspapers: Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Boston Globe (1872-1926), Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Christian Science Monitor (1908-1996), Hartford Courant (1764-1984), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2006), Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1992), and Washington Post (1877-1993).
Buffalo State login and password required  ProQuest Newspapers
Newspaper articles from six major American newspapers and over two dozen international sources. Provided by NOVELny.
Buffalo State login and password required  ProQuest Platinum
Journal articles on a wide range of topics. Provided by NOVELny.
Buffalo State login and password required  PsycARTICLES
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychology Association and allied organizations (1987 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Journal articles in psychology and behavioral sciences. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Psychology: A Sage Full-Text Collection
Peer reviewed articles covering many aspects of psychology.
Buffalo State login and password required  PsycINFO
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines (1887 - present).
Buffalo State login and password required  Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982
Covers a wide range of topics from popular, general interest periodicals published in the United States.
Buffalo State login and password required  Regional Business News
Full-text regional business publications and newswires from around the world.
  Regional Knowledge Network
Data, maps, and statistics about Western New York and Southern Ontario, from the University at Buffalo's Regional Institute.
Buffalo State login and password required  Religion and Philosophy Collection
Journal articles in religion and philosophy. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Research How-To Guides
Practical tips and guidance on how to design, develop and present academic research, from the Emerald Fulltext database.
  ResearchChannel Resource contains video
Videos and educational TV programs in all subject areas from academic and research institutions.
Buffalo State login and password required  Resources for College Libraries
Resources for collection development, reference, and bibliographic instruction in academic libraries.
Buffalo State login and password required  Sage eReference
Searchable collection of over 65 academic encyclopedias covering the social sciences and humanities.
Buffalo State login and password required  Sage Premier (Sage Journals Online)
Over 450 scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, and health.
Buffalo State login and password required  Science Citation Index
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work. This database is known online as Web of Science (1970 – present).
Buffalo State login and password required  ScienceDirect
Journals in the fields of science, technology, medicine, and social sciences from Elsevier Science and other publishers.
Buffalo State login and password required  SciFinder
Index to articles in chemistry journals. Important: Buffalo State users must register (and use your Buffalo State e-mail address) before accessing the database. Register to use SciFinder.
Buffalo State login and password required  Searchasaurus
Information for elementary and middle school students. Provided by NOVELny.
Buffalo State login and password required  Serials Directory
Not available at this time. Use another periodicals directory, Ulrich's Periodical Directory.
Buffalo State login and password required  Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of music from many North American and global traditions. Also includes spoken word, poetry, prose, and sound effects.
Buffalo State login and password required  Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th revised edition)
Comprises 901 tables of interest to scientists, engineers, and those involved in physics.
Buffalo State login and password required  Social Sciences Citation Index
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work. This database is known online as Web of Science (1970 – present).
Buffalo State login and password required  SocIndex with Full Text
journals in sociology and social work, plus coverage of criminal justice, anthropology, gender studies, and more. Also indexes books and conference papers.
Buffalo State login and password required  Sociology: A Sage Full-Text Collection
Peer reviewed articles covering all areas of sociology.
Buffalo State login and password required  Something About the Author Online
Biographical information about authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Note: To cross-search this database with Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Literature Criticism Online, click here.
Buffalo State login and password required  Spanish Language News (Combined) from LexisNexis
Over 100 Spanish language news and business sources from across the globe. For Spanish language publications from Latin America, use Spanish Language Latin American News (Combined) from LexisNexis, approximately 30 news and business publications.
Buffalo State login and password required  State Papers Online (Part I - Tudors, 1509-1603: Domestic)
Original historical materials and British government documents.
Buffalo State login and password required  Study Skills Guides
A collection of useful resources for learners at all levels. Includes essays on topics such as academic writing, critical thinking, managing a research project, avoiding plagiarism, note taking, and more. Developed by the Emerald Fulltext database.
Buffalo State login and password required  SWOT Analyses from Business Source Complete
Over 3,000 reports prepared by Datamonitor, analizing company strengths, weaknesses, opportunities for improvement, and threats.
Buffalo State login and password required  Textile Technology Index
Covers the scientific and technological aspects of textile production and processing.
Buffalo State login and password required  Theatre in Video Resource contains video
Streaming video of over 250 dramatic productions and documentaries about theater, covering works from Sophocles through 20th century playwrights. Includes the complete works of Shakespeare, many produced by the BBC.
  Thomas Register
Directory of companies and products manufactured in North America.
Buffalo State login and password required  TRAC (Transactional Records Action Clearinghouse)
Reports, bulletins, and data on federal spending, staffing, and law enforcement activities of the federal government.
Buffalo State login and password required  TracFed
Information from the non-partisan Transactional Records Action Clearinghouse about federal government activities in law enforcement, courts, criminal justice, etc.
Buffalo State login and password required  Twayne's Authors Series
Literary criticism covering authors from all time periods worldwide.
Buffalo State login and password required  Twentieth Century North American Drama
Contains plays written from the late 1800s to the present. Also includes playbills, information on theaters, production companies, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  U.S. Law Reviews and Journals from LexisNexis
Legal journals, periodicals, and law reviews.
Buffalo State login and password required  Ulrich's Periodicals Directory
Directory of magazines, journals, newspapers, and other serials published worldwide.
  UNdata (United Nations Data)
Statistics sources from the United Nations on education, health, population, human development, business, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Visual Thesaurus
An interactive dictionary and thesaurus which uses word maps and diagrams enabling users to find related words. Includes features such as Word of the Day, Featured Word Lists, Lesson Plans for educators, and an option to search for words in Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish.
Buffalo State login and password required  Vocational and Career Collection
Trade and industry-related periodicals. Provided by SUNYConnect.
Buffalo State login and password required  Wall Street Journal (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal (1889 - 1992).
Buffalo State login and password required  Washington Post (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Searchable database of full-text articles from the Washington Post (1877-1993).
Buffalo State login and password required  Web of Science
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles in all subject areas. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work. (1970 - present)
Buffalo State login and password required  Webster’s Third New International Dictionary Unabridged
Unabridged English-language dictionary.
Buffalo State login and password required  WGSN (Worth Global Style Network)
Covers many aspects of the fashion industry. After accessing WGSN, Buffalo State users must enter an additional required username/password, accessible here (Internet Explorer users must type "BSCLOGON\" before the user name).
Buffalo State login and password required  Who's Who (see Marquis Who's Who on the Web)

Buffalo State login and password required  World Book Online Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Encyclopedia articles, Web links, audio and video clips, animations, sounds, and much more.
Buffalo State login and password required  World Data Analyst
Fact sheet on every country, plus many statistics and customizable country comparison statistics.
  World Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Primary documents and materials, international in scope, including manuscripts, rare books, maps, audio recordings, photographs, films, and more. Developed by the U.S. Library of Congress and UNESCO.
  WorldCat
Catalog of books, media, computer programs, musical scores, Web resources, and other materials in libraries worldwide (1000 BC - present). For alternative, traditional interface, go to WorldCat (FirstSearch).
Buffalo State login and password required  WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
Citations of over five million dissertations and theses.
Buffalo State login and password required  Writer's Reference Center
Multi-faceted site with help for writers at all levels. The Writer's Reference Shelf option includes a dictionary, thesaurus, and sections such as Foreign Words and Phrases, Grammatical Terms, Allusions, and Words Often Confused. The Writer's Resources section features topics such as Writing Fundamentals, How to Write a Good Essay, Writing With Style, and more.
  WWD Online
Searchable database of fashion and clothing industry information from Women's Wear Daily, 1994-present. On-campus use only.

Search the library catalog:



E. H. Butler Library
Buffalo State College | State University of New York
1300 Elmwood Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14222
(716) 878-6300 | library@buffalostate.edu

This page was last updated on January 14th, 2010

Liaison Login | Powered by SubjectsPlus