E. H. Butler Library Buffalo State College

Library Databases

Troubleshooting Tips (PDF)
More ways to Find Articles

1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Full List
Search all database titles and descriptions (no special characters allowed):    

Databases and Web Sites with Audio:


Buffalo State login and password required  African American Experience Resource contains audio
Multiple resources, including reference books, primary documents, classic texts, and more, covering all aspects of African American culture and history.
Buffalo State login and password required  African American Song Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of thousands of historical music tracks covering a variety of genres. Note: Is now part of the American Song database. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  American Song Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of American music covering genres such as country, folk, blues, bluegrass, early jazz, Native American, old time, gospel, and more; over 57,000 tracks. Note: Now contains the African American Song database. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  AP Images Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Photos, graphics, and audio from the Associated Press.
Buffalo State login and password required  Birds of North America Online Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada, with images and recordings of bird songs and calls.
Buffalo State login and password required  Classical Music Library Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of classical music, including opera, chamber, orchestra, vocal & choral, and more; over 55,000 tracks. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  Contemporary World Music Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of over 20,000 music tracks -- both contemporary and traditional -- from many countries and cultures. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  Jazz Music Library Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of over 26,000 jazz music tracks, featuring many major artists, with genres ranging from early jazz to avant- garde. Note: Search this together with other streaming music sources in Music Online Listening.
Buffalo State login and password required  Music Online Listening Resource contains audio
Comprehensive digital online collection of over 100,000 music tracks and sheet music files. Includes the following sources: American Song/African American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Contemporary World Music, and Jazz Music Library. Note: The following streaming music source, available as a separate database, will be added to Music Online Listening late in 2009: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Buffalo State login and password required  Naxos Music Library Resource contains audio
Includes a variety of genres including classical, jazz, world/folk, and new age, with liner notes and background information.
Buffalo State login and password required  Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries Resource contains audio
Digital online collection of music from many North American and global traditions. Also includes spoken word, poetry, prose, and sound effects.
Buffalo State login and password required  World Book Online Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Encyclopedia articles, Web links, audio and video clips, animations, sounds, and much more.
  American Folklife Center Resource contains images Resource contains audio
This center at the Library of Congress includes the Archive of Folk Culture, one of the largest collections of ethnographic material from the United States and around the world, as well as links to an excellent collection of Resources in Ethnographic Studies.
  AmphibiaWeb Resource contains images Resource contains audio
An online system enabling anyone with a Web browser to search and retrieve information relating to amphibian biology and conservation. AmphibiaWeb offers ready access to taxonomic information for recognized species of amphibian in the world.
  Andante Resource contains audio
Partially "for members only," partially for everyone, this site calls itself "a new type of classical music venture. Its aim is to document and preserve the world's recorded classical music heritage...." It features a variety of informational and educational resources, live and recorded performances, professional services, and a magazine section. Daily headlines and news events in the concert music scene are also covered.
  Discovery Education Streaming Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Educational videos in many subjects, available for viewing and downloading. Also includes some image and sound files. Create an account/learn more (Internet Explorer users must type "BSCLOGON\" before the user name).
  Gilbert and Sullivan Archive Resource contains images Resource contains audio
For all things Gilbert and Sullivan, this site includes clip art, librettos, plot summaries, photographs, song scores, midi and mpeg audio files, and newsletter articles.
  Hispano Music and Culture of the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection Resource contains audio
One of the ethnic/folk music sites from the Library of Congress' American Folklife Center, the description for this collection states it "is an online presentation of a multi-format ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado."
  National Geographic Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Includes a variety of links related to mapping, geography, and education.
  OYEZ Resource contains audio
The OYEZ Project provides access to more than 2,000 hours of Supreme Court audio. All audio in the Court recorded since 1995 is included in the project, with selective coverage before 1995. Audio materials are delivered through a free player available from Real. Simply download and install the free version of the player for your operating system.
  Poetry Archive Resource contains audio
Streaming audio of poets (mostly British) reading their work. Nearly 150 poets are represented. Poems arranged by theme, author, and form and title. Includes a glossary of poetry terms.
  Red Hot Jazz Archive Resource contains audio
Subtitled "A History of Jazz Before 1930," this Web site includes 20 essays on pre-1930 jazz topics, biographies of over 150 important jazz performers of the era, and a list of hundreds of early jazz bands, including a brief description of each group and links to sound files so you can hear entire songs by the bands from 1910s to 1930s recordings.
  Sonnet Central Resource contains audio
Sonnet Central provides both the full text of many sonnets and a variety of useful resources for learning about sonnets, including a bibliography and a "Listening Room" where one can hear recordings of many sonnets.
  United Nations Audiovisual Library of International Law Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Features text, audio, and video resources for international legal research; arranged in three sections: Historic Archives, Lecture Series, and Research Library.
  Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Academic dictionary that includes terms, audio, and video (AIFF files).
  World Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Primary documents and materials, international in scope, including manuscripts, rare books, maps, audio recordings, photographs, films, and more. Developed by the U.S. Library of Congress and UNESCO.
E. H. Butler Library
Buffalo State College | State University of New York
1300 Elmwood Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14222
(716) 878-6300 | library@buffalostate.edu

Liaison Login | Powered by SubjectsPlus