E. H. Butler Library Buffalo State College

Library Databases

Troubleshooting Tips (PDF)
More ways to Find Articles

1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Full List
Search all database titles and descriptions (no special characters allowed):    

Databases and Web Sites with Images:


Buffalo State login and password required  Aluka Resource contains images
Online library of documents and digital images of scholarly resources from and about Africa.
Buffalo State login and password required  AP Images Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Photos, graphics, and audio from the Associated Press.
Buffalo State login and password required  ARTstor Resource contains images
Digital images and information about works of visual art, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design from many times and cultures. For more information, also see An Introduction to ARTstor.
Buffalo State login and password required  AskART Resource contains images
Database of over 50,000 American artists, including biographies and images of paintings. Also contains a glossary, art topic essays, and information on art museums, galleries, auction houses, and more.
Buffalo State login and password required  Birds of North America Online Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Detailed scientific information for each of the 716 species of birds nesting in the United States and Canada, with images and recordings of bird songs and calls.
Buffalo State login and password required  Business First Buffalo Resource contains images
Search 1996 to the present in Western New York's business newspaper.
Buffalo State login and password required  CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online) Resource contains images
A growing collection of paintings, photographs, prints, sculpture, drawings, architecture, textiles, decorative arts and more, from prominent art museums (including the Albright-Knox). Images from many cultures and time periods are available.
Buffalo State login and password required  Early English Books Online (EEBO) Resource contains images
Digital facsimiles of over 100,000 works on many subjects written in English from 1473-1700.
Buffalo State login and password required  Grove Art Online (Now contained in Oxford Art Online) Resource contains images

Buffalo State login and password required  HarpWeek Resource contains images
Browse or search the full-text, full-image electronic version of Harper's Weekly for the years 1857-1865, covering the Civil War.
Buffalo State login and password required  OAIster Resource contains images Resource contains video
Index to multidisciplinary digital resources from over 1,000 open archive collections. Formats include digitized books, images, audio, video, and datasets. Links provide access to many of the digital objects.
Buffalo State login and password required  Oxford Art Online/Grove Art Online Resource contains images
Art reference sources including Grove Art Online, an encyclopedia covering visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present.
Buffalo State login and password required  World Book Online Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Encyclopedia articles, Web links, audio and video clips, animations, sounds, and much more.
  A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia (from the National Library of Medicine) Resource contains images
Articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries, medical photographs and illustrations.
  Albright-Knox Art Gallery Resource contains images

  American Folklife Center Resource contains images Resource contains audio
This center at the Library of Congress includes the Archive of Folk Culture, one of the largest collections of ethnographic material from the United States and around the world, as well as links to an excellent collection of Resources in Ethnographic Studies.
  American Memory from the Library of Congress Resource contains images
Provides access to more than a million primary source documents relating to the history and culture of the United States.
  American Memory Map Collections Resource contains images
From the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress, these digital maps cover seven categories: cities and towns, conservation and environment, discovery and exploration, cultural landscapes, military battles and campaigns, and transportation and communication.
  AmphibiaWeb Resource contains images Resource contains audio
An online system enabling anyone with a Web browser to search and retrieve information relating to amphibian biology and conservation. AmphibiaWeb offers ready access to taxonomic information for recognized species of amphibian in the world.
  Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America Resource contains images
Subtitled the Gottscho-Schleisner Collection, this site has over 29,000 images of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. From the Library of Congress American Memory Project.
  ArtLex: Art Dictionary Resource contains images
Over 3,000 definitions, with numerous illustrations, quotations, and links to other resources.
  Audubon Birds of America Resource contains images
Digital version of John James Audubon's Birds of America from the University of Pittsburgh collection.
  Bibliotheque nationale de France Resource contains images
Includes millions of pages of text and thousands of images online from the national library of France.
  Bissonnette on Costume Resource contains images
A visual dictionary of fashion covering the 18th to the 20th centuries, from the Kent State University Museum.
  Black Film Center/Archive Resource contains images
A repository at Indiana University of films and related materials by and about African Americans. Included are films which have substantial participation by African Americans as writers, actors, producers, directors, musicians, and consultants, as well as those which depict some aspect of black experience. Although films are not loaned or distributed, this Web site has useful lists, photographs, and links to related sites.
  Buffalo and Erie County Historical Society Resource contains images
One of the country's oldest regional historical institutions, the Society is the primary collector and preserver of the artifacts and records of Western New York history. Includes a research library.
  Buffalo Folklore Etc. Resource contains images
Collections and guides on local history, researched by Nancy Piatkowski.
  Buffalo Research Resource contains images
Excellent Web site created by a local librarian to facilitate research on Buffalo history and genealogy. Includes maps, pictures, and the full text of over almost 175 books with a Buffalo connection, most from the mid-19th to the early 20th century.
  Buffalo Rising Resource contains images
Local paper's Web site.
  Buffalo Spree Resource contains images
Local magazine's Web site.
  Butterflies and Moths of North America Resource contains images
Occurrence maps, species accounts, checklists, and photographs.
  Color Landform Atlas of the US Resource contains images
Atlas organized by state with shaded relief maps, county maps, satellite images, maps from 1895, and links to external sites with geographic information.
  Digital Collection of Niagara Falls Guidebooks from the 19th Century Resource contains images
This digital collection includes valuable first-person accounts and many illustrations of Niagara Falls and the surrounding area.
  Digital Librarian: A Librarian's Choice of the Best of the Web - Art Resource contains images
This is an alphabetical list of sites containing art images.
  Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Resource contains images
Electronic resources for the study and research of decorative arts. Categories include Documents (including primary and secondary sources), Images (with links to many collections), and Resources. Another link enables users to search this library’s own Image and Text Collections. From the University of Wisconsin.
  Discovery Education Streaming Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Educational videos in many subjects, available for viewing and downloading. Also includes some image and sound files. Create an account/learn more (Internet Explorer users must type "BSCLOGON\" before the user name).
  Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History Resource contains images
Links to texts from, and images of objects obtained as the result of field work by, anthropoligists from the American Museum of Natural History.
  Domestic Interiors Database Resource contains images
Includes more than 3000 entries – some text, some images. Its producer, the UK's Centre for the Study of the Domestic Interior, says the focus "is on the changing appearance and layout of rooms in a range of domestic buildings; the objects that furnished those rooms and the ways rooms and objects were represented; how people used rooms and furnishings; and how they thought about them." Coverage runs from the 15th Century to the present.
  Earth Science World Image Bank Resource contains images
Databank of earth science images free on the Web, published by the American Geological Institute.
  Electronic Swatchbook Resource contains images
Over 1900 digitized fabric swatches from 1837 to 1923, compiled from swatch books held in the Powerhouse Museum in Sydney, Australia. Searchable by color and year. Images can be downloaded or enlarged, and each sample has its own URL.
  Fashion Era Resource contains images
Images of womens clothing, fashion history, costume history, textiles and social history from the 1800s to 2000.
  Forever Young: Enjoying Life Over 50 in Western New York Resource contains images
Local magazine's Web site.
  Get Graphic Resource contains images
Resources for teachers, parents, and librarians compiled by the Buffalo and Erie County Public Library and partnering organizations. Search the catalog for graphic novels in Butler Library.
  Gilbert and Sullivan Archive Resource contains images Resource contains audio
For all things Gilbert and Sullivan, this site includes clip art, librettos, plot summaries, photographs, song scores, midi and mpeg audio files, and newsletter articles.
  HubbleSite Resource contains images
Information and images about and from the Hubble Space Telescope. Site maintained by the Space Telescope Science Institute.
  Internet Movie Database (IMDB) Resource contains images Resource contains video
Subtitled "Earth's Biggest Movie Database," this extensive site includes links to data on films such as cast lists, plot synopses and awards, plus links to official movie Web sites, trailers, showtimes and locations, and lots more.
  LIFE Photo Archive Hosted by Google Resource contains images
Millions of photographs and images from the archives of Life and Time magazines.
  Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Resource contains images
6000 images arranged in 15 categories with over 20,000 terms with contextual definitions.
  National Atlas of the United States: Map Maker Resource contains images
An interactive site where users can create maps using layers based on national data sets.
  National Biological Information Infrastructure (NBII) Digital Image Library Resource contains images
Digital images of animals, plants, microorganisms, environmental topics, landscapes, and more; many in the public domain.
  National Geographic Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Includes a variety of links related to mapping, geography, and education.
  National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency Resource contains images
Provides imagery and geospatial information in support of U.S. military forces, national policy users, and civil users.
  New York Heritage Digital Collections Resource contains images
A gateway to hundreds of digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives about New York State's people, places, and institutions for anyone interested in the Empire State's history.
  New York Public Library Digital Gallery Resource contains images
The New York Public Library has developed this image database to provide free and open online access to thousands of images from the original and rare holdings of their specialized Research Libraries. Spanning a wide range of visual media, the NYPL Digital Gallery offers digital images of drawings, illuminated manuscripts, maps, photographs, posters, prints, rare illustrated books, and more.
  Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
This well-known site from the University of Texas Libraries features more than 5,000 online map images and links to other cartographic resources.
  Plants Database (USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service) Resource contains images
Standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
  Political and Editorial Cartoons Resource contains images
Current and archived political and editorial cartoons from across the country. Hosted by Slate Magazine.
  Political Cartoonists Index Resource contains images
Archive of contemporary political cartoons hosted by Daryl Cagle of MSNBC.
  SI Vault: Your Link to Sports History Resource contains images Resource contains video
A full-text index and digital archive to the contents of Sports Illustrated and its Web site SI.com. Includes images, articles, and videos.
  U.S. Census Bureau Maps and Cartographic Resources Resource contains images
Maps and other geographic resources including TIGER Mapping Service which provides high-quality, detailed maps of anywhere in the United States using public geographic data.
  UNEP: Atlas of Our Changing Environment Resource contains images
An interactive site from the United Nations Environment Programme with information about natural and man-made changes to the planet. Contains aerial/satellite map images, comparing the same location over time.
  United Nations Cartographic Section Resource contains images
A collection of general, thematic, and peacekeeping maps along with links to related sites.
  VADS: The Online Source for Visual Arts Resource contains images
The Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) features a portfolio of visual arts collections with over 100,000 digital images, searchable by keyword, theme, collection, etc. From the Farnham Campus of the University College for the Creative Arts, UK.
  Western New York Heritage Press Resource contains images
The mission of the Western New York Heritage Press is to research, document, preserve and interpret all aspects of the heritage of the eight Western New York counties and to promote awareness of this heritage through the publication and dissemination of original research in Western New York Heritage Magazine and other media.
  World Digital Library Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Primary documents and materials, international in scope, including manuscripts, rare books, maps, audio recordings, photographs, films, and more. Developed by the U.S. Library of Congress and UNESCO.

Search the library catalog:



E. H. Butler Library
Buffalo State College | State University of New York
1300 Elmwood Avenue, Buffalo, NY 14222
(716) 878-6300 | library@buffalostate.edu

This page was last updated on January 14th, 2010

Liaison Login | Powered by SubjectsPlus