Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ProQuest Flow: Using ProQuest for Word to Write and Format Your Paper

Guide to using ProQuest Flow

Installing ProQuest for Word

Instructions for Installing ProQuest for Word:


Windows Version

Mac Version

Need Help?

Have questions regarding Flow or need some technical support? Contact our Support Team for help.

email us or

tel. +1. 800-521-0600 ext. 74440 or +1.734-997-4440

Support hours are:

Monday – Thursday: 8:00 am – 11:00 pm ET

Friday: 8:00 am – 8:00 pm ET

Sunday: 2:00 pm – 11:00 pm ET

Flow Webinars

We offer several webinars on many different topics each month. Below are links to our schedule of upcoming sessions and recordings of recent ones.

Upcoming sessions and recordings:

For Users

For Administrators

 

We also offer a series of brief video tutorials:

Flow Training Videos

Using ProQuest for Word to Write and Format Your Paper

ProQuest for Word is a utility that allows users to run an abbreviated version of  Flow in Microsoft Word. You can access your references by folder (or sub-folder), by quick search or by all references with the ability to sort by author, title or year.

With ProQuest for Word, you can cite references in a manuscript with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography.  The utility installs a ProQuest/Flow tab in the MS Word ribbon or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.

Working online or offline is seamless – no need to be connected to the internet – and you can share documents between the Windows and Mac versions of ProQuest for Word seamlessly.

Information on getting started with ProQuest for Word is listed below and the functionality applies to both online and offline usage.

ProQuest for Word Compatibility and System Requirements

Windows Operating System

  • Windows XP or later (including Vista, Windows 7 and 8)
  • 256 MB of RAM
  • 20 MB of available hard-disk space
  • Internet connectivity (for downloading of tool and periodic database synchronization)

Mac Operating System

  • OS X 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, 10.9 & 10.10 (Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks and Yosemite)
  • Mac OX 10.9 and 10.10 users need to download Java 6 from Apple's support site:   http://support.apple.com/kb/dl1572


Compatibility

ProQuest for Word is compatible with Microsoft® Word for Windows 2007, 2010 and 2013 (locally installed versions only) or later and Microsoft Word 2008 and 2011 for Mac.

Working with ProQuest for Word

You can get started with ProQuest for Word easily and view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.

To get started:

  • Click "ProQuest” in your MS Word ribbon to launch ProQuest for Word
  • Select an output style
  • Insert in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography
  • Save your paper


Step 1. Launch ProQuest for Word

Note:  The first time you launch ProQuest for Word, you must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your Flow library and sync it with ProQuest for Word.

Tip:  In most cases, there is no need to log out of ProQuest for Word when you are not using it.   If you are using ProQuest for Word on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of ProQuest for Word when you complete your work.  If someone does gain access to a system with your Flow library logged in to ProQuest for Word, they will not be able to change anything in your account since ProQuest for Word doesn’t have any features to edit your items.

Logging In To ProQuest for Word:

1. Click ProQuest from the Microsoft Word ribbon.  



2. Click Log In.



 3. Click "Flow" and then enter your email address and Flow password and click "Login".



The first time you log in to ProQuest for Word, it will automatically “sync” with your Flow library.  This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references and collections.  Any time you make changes to your Flow items you can click Sync my Database your new and edited items will be added to ProQuest for Word.   
During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the ProQuest for Word functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style drop down.  You will see a list of Flow’s popular styles.

2. Click on the style name.

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on Style and selecting a new output style.




Step 3.  Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

Note:  You may want to sync your Flow library with ProQuest for Word if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used ProQuest for Word, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option. 





2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by collection or search.  The search box will search every field..  You can use “AND” and “OR” when using the search box.     



Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title.  Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).
 
Full Reference View:



3.  Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.



4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

Tip:  To add a second item to a single citation, click the + button in the Compose Citation area and then select the reference from your list.  

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.



6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note:  the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper.  You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.





Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).  

Buffalo State logo
E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
1300 Elmwood Ave, Buffalo, NY 14222
Phone: (716) 878 6300
Fax: (716) 878-3134
Accessibility Policy

Facebook
Twitter