Skip to Main Content
E. H. Butler Library
E. H. Butler Library
Native American Heritage Month
Native American Heritage Month
This guide highlights newer works contained in the Butler Library collection that focus on Native American heritage.
About This Guide
Databases and Journals
Children's Picture Books
Children's Middle-Grade & Young Adult Fiction
Health & Science
History of Native Americans in General
History of Specific Indigenous Nations
Language & Literature
#IdleNoMore: And the Remaking of Canada
Call Number: Stacks ; E92 .C53 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-04
Idle No More bewildered many Canadians. Launched by four women in Saskatchewan in reaction to a federal omnibus budget bill, the protest became the most powerful demonstration of Aboriginal identity in Canadian history. Thousands of Aboriginal people and their supporters took to the streets, shopping malls, and other venues, drumming, dancing, and singing in a collective voice. Idle No More lasted for almost a year before the rallies dissipated. Many observers described it as a spent force. It was anything but. Idle No More was the most profound declaration of Indigenous identity and confidence in Canadian history, sparked by Aboriginal women and their supporters, sustained by young Indigenous peoples, filled with pride and determination. When the drums slowed, a new and different Canada was left in its wake. Partially stunned by the peaceful celebrations, but perplexed by a movement that seemed to have no centre and no leaders, most Canadians missed the point. Through Idle No More, Aboriginal people have declared that they are a vital and necessary part of Canada's future. The spirit of the drumming, singing and dancing lives on in empowered and confident young Aboriginal people who will shape the future of this country for decades to come.
Asegi Stories: Cherokee Queer and Two-Spirit Memory
Call Number: Stacks ; E99.C5 D795 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-07
In Cherokee Asegi udanto refers to people who either fall outside of men's and women's roles or who mix men's and women's roles. Asegi, which translates as "strange," is also used by some Cherokees as a term similar to "queer." For author Qwo-Li Driskill, asegi provides a means by which to reread Cherokee history in order to listen for those stories rendered "strange" by colonial heteropatriarchy. As the first full-length work of scholarship to develop a tribally specific Indigenous Queer or Two-Spirit critique, Asegi Stories examines gender and sexuality in Cherokee cultural memory, how they shape the present, and how they can influence the future. The theoretical and methodological underpinnings of Asegi Stories derive from activist, artistic, and intellectual genealogies, referred to as "dissent lines" by Maori scholar Linda Tuhiwai Smith. Driskill intertwines Cherokee and other Indigenous traditions, women of color feminisms, grassroots activisms, queer and Trans studies and politics, rhetoric, Native studies, and decolonial politics. Drawing from oral histories and archival documents in order to articulate Cherokee-centered Two-Spirit critiques, Driskill contributes to the larger intertribal movements for social justice.
Green Wars: Conservation and decolonization in the Maya Forest
Call Number: Stacks ; F1465.2.K5 Y33 2018
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
Global conservation efforts are celebrated for saving Guatemala's Maya Forest. This book reveals that the process of protecting lands has been one of racialized dispossession for the Indigenous peoples who live there. Through careful ethnography and archival research, Megan Ybarra shows how conservation efforts have turned Q'eqchi' Mayas into immigrants on their own land, and how this is part of a larger national effort to make Indigenous peoples into neoliberal citizens. Even as Q'eqchi's participate in conservation, Green Wars amplifies their call for material decolonization by recognizing the relationship between Indigenous peoples and the land itself.
Policing American Indians
Laurence Armand French
Call Number: Stacks ; E93 .F76 2016
Publication Date: 2015-10-09
Bias, prejudice, and corruption riddle the history of US jurisprudence. Policing American Indians: A Unique Chapter in American Jurisprudence explores these injustices, specifically the treatment of American Indians. A mix of academic research as well as field experience, this book draws on author Laurence French's more than 40 years of experience with American Indian individuals and groups. It illustrates how, despite changes in the law to correct past injustices, a subculture of discrimination often persists in law enforcement, whether by a prosecutor or a street cop. The book provides specific examples of the role of police in extra-legal confrontations with American Indians, as well as examples of using the US military to police American Indians. It covers the ways in which US policy regarding American Indians has changed since the country's birth, including recent changes in policy as a response to issues of national security following the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. Policing American Indians takes an interdisciplinary approach that includes criminology, sociology, anthropology, cultural psychology, and historical analysis of geopolitics. It challenges actual historical practices of the basic concepts of due process and justice for all espoused by the American criminal justice system. It also adds a nuanced cultural dimension to the history of policing in American history to give you a more detailed image of unjust behavior in the history of American criminal justice.
Reclaiming Indigenous Governance
William Nikolakis (Editor); Stephen Cornell (Editor); Harry W. Nelson (Editor); Sophie Pierre (Foreword by)
Call Number: Stacks ; K3247 .R43 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-22
Reclaiming Indigenous Governance examines the efforts of Indigenous peoples in four important countries to reclaim their right to self-govern. Showcasing Native nations, this timely book presents diverse perspectives of both practitioners and researchers involved in Indigenous governance in Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and the United States (the CANZUS states). Indigenous governance is dynamic, an ongoing relationship between Indigenous peoples and settler-states. The relationship may be vigorously contested, but it is often fragile--one that ebbs and flows, where hard-won gains can be swiftly lost by the policy reversals of central governments. The legacy of colonial relationships continues to limit advances in self-government. Yet Indigenous peoples in the CANZUS countries are no strangers to setbacks, and their growing movement provides ample evidence of resilience, resourcefulness, and determination to take back control of their own destiny. Demonstrating the struggles and achievements of Indigenous peoples, the chapter authors draw on the wisdom of Indigenous leaders and others involved in rebuilding institutions for governance, strategic issues, and managing lands and resources. This volume brings together the experiences, reflections, and insights of practitioners confronting the challenges of governing, as well as researchers seeking to learn what Indigenous governing involves in these contexts. Three things emerge: the enormity of the Indigenous governance task, the creative agency of Indigenous peoples determined to pursue their own objectives, and the diverse paths they choose to reach their goal.
Reconciling and Rehumanizing Indigenous-Settler Relations
Call Number: Stacks ; E78.C2 F38 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
Reconciling and Rehumanizing Indigenous-Settler Relations: An Applied Anthropological Perspective presents a unique and honest account of an applied anthropologist's experience in working with Indigenous peoples of Canada. It illustrates Dr. Nadia Ferrara's efforts in reconciliation and rehumanization, showing that it is all about recognizing our shared humanity. In this self-reflective narrative, the author describes her personal experience of marginalization and how it contributed to a more in-depth understanding of how others are marginalized, as well as the fundamental sense of belongingness and connectedness. The book is enriched with stories and insights from her fieldwork as a clinician, a university professor, and a bureaucrat. Dr. Ferrara shows how she has applied her experience as an art therapist in Indigenous communities to her current work in policy development to ensure the policies created reflect their current realities. Reconciling and Rehumanizing Indigenous-Settler Relations describes the cultural competency course for public servants Dr. Ferrara is leading, as a means to break down stereotypes and showcase the resilience of Indigenous peoples. She makes a compassionate and urgent call to all North Americans to connect with their responsibility and compassion, and acknowledge the injustices that the original peoples of this land have faced and continue to face. Reconciliation requires concrete action and it starts with the individual's self-reflection, engagement in authentic human-to-human dialogue, learning from one another, and working together towards a better future, all of which is chronicled in this insightful book.
The Right Relationship: Reimagining the Implementation of Historical Treaties
Coyle & Borrows
Call Number: Stacks ; E92 .R54 2017
Publication Date: 2017
The relationship between Canada's Indigenous peoples and the Canadian government is one that has increasingly come to the fore. Numerous tragic incidents and a legacy of historical negligence combined with more vehement calls for action is forcing a reconsideration of the relationship between the federal government and Indigenous nations. In The Right Relationship, John Borrows and Michael Coyle bring together a group of renowned scholars, both indigenous and non-indigenous, to cast light on the magnitude of the challenges Canadians face in seeking a consensus on the nature of treaty partnership in the twenty-first century. The diverse perspectives offered in this volume examine how Indigenous people's own legal and policy frameworks can be used to develop healthier attitudes between First Peoples and settler governments in Canada. While considering the existing law of Aboriginal and treaty rights, the contributors imagine what these relationships might look like if those involved pursued our highest aspirations as Canadians and Indigenous peoples. This timely and authoritative volume provides answers that will help pave the way toward good governance for all.
Jaskiran Dhillon (Editor)
Publication Date: 2022-03-11
From the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe's resistance against the Dakota Access pipeline to the Nepalese Newar community's protest of the Fast Track Road Project, Indigenous peoples around the world are standing up and speaking out against global capitalism to protect the land, water, and air. By reminding us of the fundamental importance of placing Indigenous politics, histories, and ontologies at the center of our social movements, Indigenous Resurgence positions environmental justice within historical, social, political, and economic contexts, exploring the troubling relationship between colonial and environmental violence and reframing climate change and environmental degradation through an anticolonial lens.
Destroying to Replace
Mohamed Adhikari; Alfred J. Andrea (Editor)
Call Number: Stacks ; HV6322.7 .A34 2022
Publication Date: 2022-07-18
This book explores settler colonial genocides in a global perspective and over the long durée. It does so systematically and compellingly, as it investigates how settler colonial expansion at times created conditions for genocidal violence, and the ways in which genocide was at times perpetrated on settler colonial frontiers. This volume will prove invaluable to teachers and students of imperialism, colonialism, and human rights.
Publication Date: 2022-02-11
From the Holocaust in Europe to the military dictatorships of Latin America to the enduring violence of settler colonialism around the world, genocide has been a defining experience of far too many societies. In many cases, the damaging legacies of genocide lead to continued violence and social divisions for decades. In others, however, creative responses to this identity-based violence emerge from the grassroots, contributing to widespread social and political transformation. Resonant Violence explores both the enduring impacts of genocidal violence and the varied ways in which states and grassroots collectives respond to and transform this violence through memory practices and grassroots activism. By calling upon lessons from Germany, Poland, Argentina, and the Indigenous United States, Resonant Violence demonstrates how ordinary individuals come together to engage with a violent past to pave the way for a less violent future.
Everything You Wanted to Know about Indians but Were Afraid to Ask
Anton Treuer (Contribution by)
Call Number: Stacks ; E77 .T795 2023
Publication Date: 2023-04-18
A revised and updated edition of a modern classic offers answers to nearly 200 essential and thought-provoking questions about the Native people of North America. What have you always wanted to know about Indians? Do you feel like you should already know the answers--or are concerned that your questions may be offensive? For more than a decade, Anton Treuer's clear, candid, and informative book has answered questions for tens of thousands of readers. This revised edition both revisits old questions from a new perspective and expands on topics that have become increasingly relevant over the past decade, including activism and tribal enrollment; truth and reconciliation efforts; gender roles and identities in Indigenous communities; the status of Alaskan Natives and Canadian First Nations; and much more. Treuer, an Ojibwe scholar and cultural preservationist, addresses nearly 200 questions on a range of topics--questions that are thoughtful and outrageous, modern and historical, and always interesting. --What are we supposed to call North America's first people? --Can white people dance at powwows? --What's the point of land acknowledgments? --Does tribal sovereignty mean that tribes can offer abortion services in states where it is now otherwise illegal? With frank, funny, and sometimes personal prose, this book cuts through myths, guilt, and anger and builds a foundation for true understanding and positive action.
Scales of Resistance
Publication Date: 2023-05-12
In Scales of Resistance Maylei Blackwell narrates how Indigenous women's activism in Mexico and its diaspora weaves in and between local, national, continental, and transborder scales. Drawing on more than seventy testimonials and twenty years of fieldwork spent accompanying Indigenous women activists, Blackwell focuses on how these activists navigate the blockages to their participation and transform exclusionary spaces into scales of resistance. Blackwell shows how activists in Mexico and those in the migrant stream that runs from Oaxaca into California redefined women's roles in community decision-making. They did so by scaling down Indigenous autonomy to their own bodies, homes, and communities; grounding their political claims within Indigenous epistemologies and the gendered nature of social organization; and scaling up to regional, national, and continental contexts. This allowed them to place themselves at the heart of Indigenous resistance and autonomy, decolonizing gender hierarchies and creating new scales of participation. Blackwell reveals the importance of moving across different types of scale and contrasting colonial divisions of scale itself with Indigenous conceptions of scale, space, solidarity, and connection.
Language & Literature
E. H. Butler Library
SUNY Buffalo State
1300 Elmwood Ave
(716) 878 6300
Fax: (716) 878-3134
Nov 1, 2023 12:47 PM
Report a problem
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: Heritage Celebrations
Multicultural & Diversity Studies