Library: Social and Psychological Foundations of Education and Adult Education Research Guide: Psychology & Education Library Databases

Social & Psychological Foundations of Education & Adult Education Library Research Databases

PsycArticles & PsycINFO

The links below are two psychology "Indexes." An index is a database that provides searchable bibliographic data to each article but is not a repository for the full-text versions. Fortunately, you can select "Find It" to see if we have access to the full-text in our ALL-Search. If there is a Full-Text PDF link under the article, you may click that. These two databases search articles by subject, title, author and these specialized criteria:

Methodology Types (Trials, Systematic Reviews, Meta Analyses, Literature Reviews, etc.)
Type of Record
Supplemental Data (Data Sets, Appendices, etc)
Population
Age Group
Class
APA Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms

PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychology Association and allied organizations. Searchable as part of the ProQuest suite of databases.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.

Education Databases

The below databases are good search tools for finding articles from peer-reviewed journals AND from non-peer-reviewed magazines and trade journals (Periodicals).

Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) provides indexing for articles on age/grade level, intended audience, and publication type. ERIC content is not included in an all search. The rest of the databases are included in an ALL-Search but these are good places to go when finding articles from popular sources and trade journals.

ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Extensive full-text education content, users will find the most comprehensive and most relevant search results.Includes content from Education Abstracts, Education Index Retrospective, Education Full Text, Education Research Complete and more than 200 additional full-text journals not previously available in any database.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Persistent URL Instructions
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Exclusive Viewpoint pages bring balance and perspective to every controversy using targeted arguments from recognized subject-matter experts and top journalistic sources.

Web of Science Citation Index

Web of Science Citation Index tracks the impact of articles by measuring and documenting which articles are citing other articles. Web of Science is also not included in an ALL-Search, but you can try to locate the full-text in our ALL-Search by selecting "Find It"

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles in all subject areas. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work (1970 - present).