These are best bets for finding primary resources for your HIS400 project.
The following resources are comprised of Butler Library subscriptions databases and open access repositories that house resources useful to the HIS400 project regarding food. For assistance with searching these resources, please contact a librarian. For a more in-depth look at the primary sources generally available to Buffalo State students and faculty, please see the primary resources guide (link on the left).
Statement of Attribution: Portions of this guide were derived from the HIS263 Guide by University of Rochester
The following are 'best bets' subscription databases that may assist you with finding primary resources for your HIS300w project. Butler Library subscribes to a number of primary resource collections that are not listed in this guide. Those resources may not be specifically relevant to the HIS300w project. To look at all of the primary resource collections, please visit the primary resource guide.
This unique collection documents American History from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. It is sourced from the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the finest archives available to study American History.
This resource showcases three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, including speeches, reports, surveys, and analyses by Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.
Explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through primary sources like manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, and images of artwork.
Political Extremism provides a range of documents and audio recordings covering political extremism and radical thought in various countries, with over 600,000 pages of content.
The following sources are a public domain repositories of free archival material in digital formats. Books, articles, pamphlets, images, audio, video, and ephemera are some of the types of sources you will find.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a preservation repository that houses millions of volumes digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and HathiTrust's partner institutions. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyrighted content. The library is maintained by relying on community standards, best practices, and open infrastructure.
There is a digital library with primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. It consists of books and journals and is divided into two searchable collections at Cornell University and the University of Michigan.
