African History in Credo

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Descendants of the original Dutch settlers in South Africa who went to the Cape of Good Hope in the decades after the first settlement in 1652.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Twi-speaking Akan people who inhabit southern Ghana and adjacent Togo and Ivory Coast.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A linguistic classification identifying the 60 million or so people occupying almost the whole southern projection of Africa, or roughly one third of the entire continent.

Aboriginal Caucasoid peoples of N Africa, called Imazighen in the Tamazight language.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Inhabitants of the city of Carthage (‘New City’), now a suburb of Tunis, and its extensive territories bordering the North African coast.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Inhabitants of the upland plateau region centred on Bandiagara in Mali, West Africa.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
The people of Egypt. Almost all Egyptians live in the well-watered and fertile Nile Valley and Delta region leading to the Mediterranean.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A predominantly Muslim people originating in modern-day Senegal and now widely dispersed across the Sahel region of West Africa as far east as Lake Chad and Cameroon.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A large agglomeration of linguistically related people of West Africa, concentrated in the Muslim emirates of northern Nigeria and adjoining southern Niger.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Culturally related BANTU-speakers concentrated in the western Congo basin in central Africa.

From Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History
Traditionally nomadic pastoralists of the Rift Valley area of Kenya and Tanzania.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A people who mainly occupy the western Sudan.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
An ethnolinguistic group of northwest Africa, concentrated in Morocco, Mauritania, Senegal, Mali and Gambia, although the term is sometimes applied to Muslim groups further afield.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
The second-largest ethnic group of Zimbabwe (formerly Rhodesia).

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Member of a minority ethnic group forming many small autonomous groups in southern Sudan.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Cushitic-speaking pastoralists of southeastern Ethiopia who constantly extended their territory in search of pasture for their cattle.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Central African pygmy groups include the Western Aka; the Central or Twa (or Tswa) cluster; the Eastern Mbuti, who have an Aka sub-group; and the southeastern group, also known as Twa, of the Rift Valley.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A people who have traditionally been marginalized by stronger societies and who survive today in the deserts and marginal regions of Botswana and Namibia, sometimes as pastoralists and sometimes as traditional hunter-gatherers.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A people who inhabit the Horn of Africa, divided among several states in the region because of colonial boundaries.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A BANTU Sesotho-speaking people occupying the high grasslands of southern Africa, where they are one of the largest ethnic groups.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A cluster of Bantu Sotho-speaking peoples who occupy the temperate grassland and dry thorn-veld of the edge of the Kalahari Desert, the territory of the modern-day Republic of Botswana.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
The traditionally dominant peoples of Rwanda and Burundi (though forming less than 10% and 15% of their national populations respectively), and among the Ha of western Tanzania.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
Cattle farmers and agriculturists of Senegal and Gambia.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
This large ethnic group is divided into numerous subgroups possessing different cultural identities and speaking various dialects of Yoruba, a Kwa language of the Niger-Congo family.

From Cassell's Peoples, Nations and Cultures
A Northern Nguni people who live mainly in northern Natal, where their South African apartheid ‘homeland’ was known as KwaZulu.

From Dictionary of Languages
Even more strikingly than the Uralic and Indo-European families, the Afroasiatic language family cuts across usually perceived racial boundaries.

Group of African languages forming a subdivision of the Benue-Niger division of the Niger-Congo branch of the Niger-Kordofanian language family.

From Dictionary of Languages
A group of now-scattered languages belonging to the Omotic group of Afroasiatic languages, Gonga is the speech of a series of old kingdoms of south-western Ethiopia.

From Dictionary of Languages
The Kru Languages are spoken in the forests of southern Liberia and Ivory Coast. They belong to the Niger-Congo family.

From Dictionary of Languages
A subdivision of the Western Nilotic group of Nilo-Saharan Languages, Luo in its various related forms is spoken by a scattered series of peoples extending from western Ethiopia to the northern extremity of Tanzania.

From Dictionary of Languages
The linguist Joseph Greenberg, in 1963, proposed the recognition of a Nilo-Saharan language family, grouping together numerous languages of Uganda, Ethiopia, Sudan and Chad.

From Dictionary of Languages
Nubian is a close-knit group of Nilo-Saharan Languages, and has a much longer recorded history than any other member of the family.

From Dictionary of Languages
The Omotic group are Afroasiatic Languages spoken in Ethiopia.