It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A movement culminating in the late 18th and early 19th centuries that aimed first to end the slave trade, and then to abolish the institution of slavery and emancipate slaves. The movement took place in Europe, mainly in the UK, and in the USA.
From Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations The rapid, competitive Great Power partition of Africa during the latter third of the nineteenth century, in which formal and informal spheres of influence were converted into colonies by annexation or conquest.
Shortly after landing at Aboukir (Abu Qir), he won a brilliant victory over the Mamluks in the battle of the Pyramids (July, 1798). His successes, however, were made useless when the French fleet was utterly destroyed (Aug. 1–2) by Nelson in Aboukir Bay.
From An African Biographical Dictionary Lord Frederick John Dealtry Lugard was a British imperialist and colonial administrator who drafted the most comprehensive theory of colonialism, which became the basis of much British colonial management.
From An African Biographical Dictionary Founder of the Transvaal Republic; one of the leaders of the Great Trek, during which much of the Afrikaner population moved away from British dominance to establish their own independent states.
From An African Biographical Dictionary Barnett Isaacs Barnato—financier, speculator and diamond merchant—was prominent among the White entrepreneurs who became wealthy in South Africa before the Boer War.
A trip in 1875 through the rich territories of Transvaal and Bechuanaland apparently helped to inspire Rhodes with the dream of British rule over all southern Africa; later he spoke of British dominion "from the Cape to Cairo."
From An African Biographical Dictionary Friend and confidant of Cecil Rhodes; a leading figure in early South African politics; best remembered as the commander of a disastrous military attack against the Transvaal Republic, for which he was tried and imprisoned.
From Africa and the Americas: Culture, Politics, and History “Diaspora” is a term describing mass migrations of people, forced and voluntary. Africa and the Americas have each been defined by such mass migrations of both kinds.
From Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations In colonial administration: When there was no local intermediary (chief, emir, bey, dey, nawab) acting as go-between for the colonial governor with the native population
From Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations When an imperial power governed a colony through local intermediaries (chief, emir, bey, dey, nawab) in return for leaving unchanged the local social arrangements.
Discrimination is negative behavior directed at individuals or at groups of individuals because of their social group membership. Discrimination is based on social categories that individuals do not generally choose to belong to, including gender, race, religion, disability, sexual orientation, stigma, age, and physical appearance.
From Brewer's Dictionary of Modern Phrase and Fable In the days of imperialism the duty supposed to be imposed upon the white races, especially the British, to govern and to educate the more 'backward' coloured peoples.
From A Historical Companion to Postcolonial Literatures: Continental Europe and its Empires The Berlin Conference has often been regarded as the beginning of the partition of Africa. Yet the ‘Scramble for Africa’ started well before it.
From The companion to British history
The uitlanders (non-Dutch Europeans) in the Boer republics (especially the Transvaal) represented the enterprise and capital, paid the taxes but had no rights. Numerous and noisy, they conspired (autumn 1895) against the Boer Govt. of Paul Kruger.
From The Reader's Companion to Military History 1899–1902. The Boer War began when Sir Alfred Milner, the British high commissioner in South Africa, goaded the Boers in the South African republics into declaring war on October 12, 1899.
From Chambers Dictionary of World History The bellicose venture by Mussolini aimed at winning popular support at home, an increase in Italian prestige and strategic gains to pressurize the British in the Eastern Mediterranean.
From Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations A section of West African coast, now part of Ghana, named for the primary product taken from it by the Portuguese, who first reached it in 1471 and then built a fortification known as Elmina in 1482.
From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather guide Diamond-mining capital city of Northern Cape Province, South Africa. Its mines have been controlled by De Beers Consolidated Mines since 1887.