Margaret Goff Clark-Children and Young Adult Literature Collection and Papers
Margaret Goff Clark
Margaret Goff Clark and Marcia Clark Noel (daughter)
1982, 1984, 1987, 1990, 2002, 2007, 2017
30 boxes; 18 linear ft.
Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
2018, Hope Dunbar
Margaret Goff Clark-Children and Young Adult Literature Collection and Papers are open for research.
See Archivist for information on reproducing materials from this collection, including photocopies, digital camera images, or digital scans, as well as copyright restrictions that may pertain to these materials.
Even though all reasonable and customary best-practices have been pursued, this collection may contain materials with confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in this collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications (e.g., a cause of action under common law for invasion of privacy may arise if facts are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person) for which the SUNY Buffalo State assumes no responsibility.
[Description and dates], Box/folder, Margaret Goff Clark-Children and Young Adult Literature Collection and Papers, Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State.
Margaret Goff Clark was born March 7, 1913 in Oklahoma City, USA. At five, she and her family moved to Olean, New York. She attended Columbia University and State University in Buffalo, earning a bachelor’s degree in education. She began writing when her children were young and published her first book, "The Mystery Of Seneca Hill" in 1961. As a result, Ms. Clark was adopted into the Seneca Indian tribe in 1962.
Many of her books are based on her experiences traveling to parks and nature areas. She cottages in Algonquin Park in Ontario, Canada. "Death At Their Heels" was written in 1975, after visiting it one summer. Most recently, Ms. Clark has been writing books about endangered species in Florida, including the manatee and the Florida black bear. Her 1993 book on the endangered Florida panther was dedicated to her husband Charles R. Clark. In addition to books, Ms. Clark has contributed over 200 short stories to magazines such as "American Girl, The Instructor, Teen Talk" and other Canadian and American magazines. Margaret Goff Clark passed away in 2004. –taken from Goodreads.com on 05/07/2018
Biographical material, book cover artwork, book jacket sketches, book proposals, books, certificates, correspondence, drafts, fan mail, galley prints, manuscripts, newspaper clippings, photographs, plays, poetry, publicity material, research and planning notes, serial publications, short stories, unpublished works, and working papers.
The collection has been processed in the order it was received from the donor and donor’s family. Each box section notes the donation date; processing date, if applicable; and topic of box contents. Contents include: books, articles, mock-ups, manuscripts, correspondence, research, postcards, galley proofs, unpublished materials, plays, poems, commencement programs, and scrapbooks.
SERIES I: box 1-7 received in 1982
SERIES II: box 8-12 received in 1984
SERIES III: box 13-16 received in 1987
SERIES IV: box 17 received in 1990
SERIES V: box 18-19 received 2002
SERIES VI: box 20-23 received in 2007
SERIES VII: box 24-30 received in 2017