The Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain Family Papers Collection (reproductions)
Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain and family
Robert Browning, U.C. Berkeley
125 letters; ca. 100 journal entries; 1 linear ft.
Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
The Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain Family Papers Collection (reproductions) is open for research.
See Archivist for information on reproducing materials from this collection, including photocopies, digital camera images, or digital scans, as well as copyright restrictions that may pertain to these materials.
Even though all reasonable and customary best-practices have been pursued, this collection may contain materials with confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in this collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications (e.g., a cause of action under common law for invasion of privacy may arise if facts are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person) for which the SUNY Buffalo State assumes no responsibility.
[Description and dates], Box/folder number, The Samuel Clemens/Mark Twain Family Papers Collection (reproductions), Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State. Original attribution to U.C. Berkeley, Mark Twain Papers, The Bancroft Library.
Samuel Langhorne Clemens wrote under the pen name of Mark Twain and authored several seminal pieces of American literature including, The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. Twain lived in Buffalo, NY from 1869 to 1871 and owned a stake in the Buffalo Express newspaper. Jane Lampton “Jean” Clemens, his youngest of three daughters, was born in Hartford, CT and suffered epilepsy from age fifteen until her death at the age of twenty-nine.
The collection is divided into two categories. One contains photocopies of letters from a range of family members spanning 1884 to 1909; the other contains the journal/diary entries of Jean Clemens spanning 1900-1906.
The family letters include:
The family letters are numbered, please reference inventory. The journal/diary entries are chronological and grouped by time frames.