The Diane English Script Collection
Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
Reprocessed 2017, Hope Dunbar
The Diane English Script Collection is open for research.
See Archivist for information on reproducing materials from this collection, including photocopies, digital camera images, or digital scans, as well as copyright restrictions that may pertain to these materials.
Even though all reasonable and customary best-practices have been pursued, this collection may contain materials with confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in this collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications (e.g., a cause of action under common law for invasion of privacy may arise if facts are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person) for which the SUNY Buffalo State assumes no responsibility.
[Description and dates], Box/folder number, The Diane English Script Collection [1988-1995], Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State.
Diane English was born in Buffalo, New York where she attended Nardin Academy and SUNY Buffalo State. Throughout the 1980s English wrote several series including: The Lathe of Heaven, Foley Square (1985-1986) and My Sister Sam (1986 and 1987 seasons). She is best known for writing and producing the sitcom Murphy Brown for CBS that ran for 10 years (1988-1998) totaling 247 episodes; and writing and directing the 2008 feature film, The Women. Additional sitcoms written in the 1990s include, Love and War (1992-1995), Double Rush (1995), Ink (1996), The Louie Show (1996), and Living in Captivity (1998).
The collection contains evolving drafts of each show episode prior to production and editing notes handwritten throughout.
The Collection is divided into three series by television program and ordered by series and episode number:
Series I: Murphy Brown Box 1-13
Series II: Love and War Box 14-19
Series III: Double Rush Box 20-21