The Audrey Barrett Gleason Fashion Illustration Collection
1959-2014, bulk 1960-1980
Audrey Barrett Gleason
Audrey Barrett Gleason
4 flat boxes containing 101 mounted boards
Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
2017, Hope Dunbar
The Audrey Barrett Gleason Fashion Illustration Collection is open for research.
See Archivist for information on reproducing materials from this collection, including photocopies, digital camera images, or digital scans, as well as copyright restrictions that may pertain to these materials.
Even though all reasonable and customary best-practices have been pursued, this collection may contain materials with confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in this collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications (e.g., a cause of action under common law for invasion of privacy may arise if facts are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person) for which the SUNY Buffalo State assumes no responsibility.
[Description and dates], Box, The Audrey Barrett Gleason Fashion Illustration Collection, Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State.
Audrey Barrett Gleason was a full-time fashion illustrator from 1959-1982 for Sattler’s Department Store, McCurdy’s Department Store, Wm. Hengerer’s Department Store, and L.L. Berger, Inc. In addition, she trained in art at the Rochester Institute of Technology, as well as the Albright Art School, and produced a number of art exhibitions in western New York at the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Rochester Memorial Art Gallery, Carnegie Art Center, and Art Dialogue Gallery.
The collection contains large hand-drawn and colored fashion sketches of women’s clothing, shoes, outerwear, and lingerie primarily from circa 1960-1980. Specific department stores listed include: McCurdy & Co., Wm. Hengerer Co., and L.L. Berger. Most hand-drawn sketches are accompanied by their newspaper print.
The collection is divided into three smaller flat boxes and one large flat box. The mounted boards are divided by size and the department store that commissioned the fashion advertisement sketch. Please see the inventory for the specific arrangement.