Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New York State Art Teachers Association (NYSATA) Collection [1949-2021]: Home

Descriptive Summary

Title:

The New York State Art Teachers Association (NYSATA) Collection

Date Span:

1949-2021

Acquisition Number:

N/A

Creator:

NYSATA; LIATA

Donor:

NYSATA

Date of Acquisition: 

1995, 2021

Extent: 

14 boxes

Language:

English

Location: 

Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State 

Processed: 

Reprocessed by Lisa Lawson, 2020-2022

Information on Use

Access: 

The NYSATA Collection is open for research. 

Reproduction of Materials: 

See Archivist for information on reproducing materials from this collection, including photocopies, digital camera images, or digital scans, as well as copyright restrictions that may pertain to these materials. 

Even though all reasonable and customary best-practices have been pursued, this collection may contain materials with confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in this collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications (e.g., a cause of action under common law for invasion of privacy may arise if facts are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person) for which the SUNY Buffalo State assumes no responsibility.

Preferred Citation: 

[Description and dates], Box/folder number, The NYSATA Collection, Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State.

Biographical Note:

The New York State Art Teachers Association (NYSATA) is a non-profit professional organization founded in 1948 for the purpose of advancing the cause of art education by stimulating interest in the study of art in public, private and parochial schools and colleges in the state of New York; developing sensitivity to and encouraging participation in the visual art; securing wider recognition of the vital importance of education through art; encouraging carry-over of school art education into the artistic, social and home life of the individual; fostering professional growth and leadership among the members of the organization; voicing our concerns with regard to policies and legislation that effect art education.

Members include preschool through university level art educators, art administrators, museum educators, school administrators, school districts, commercial representatives, and friends and benefactors. The New York State Art Teachers Association is made up of 10 Regions. Elected representatives from the ten regions and five elected state-level officers form the Board of Trustees, which is the decision-making body for NYSATA.

Scope and Contents:

Brochures, handbooks, newspaper clippings, correspondence, minutes, programs, photographs, bulletins, and a scrapbook.