The New York Geographical Association Records
The New York Geographical Association
Dr. Katheryne Whittemore Estate, via Dr. Theodore Kury, Chairman, Geography and Planning Department, Buffalo State College.
1 box; .5 linear ft.
Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
1987; reprocessed 2006
The New York Geographical Association Records is open for research.
See Archivist for information on reproducing materials from this collection, including photocopies, digital camera images, or digital scans, as well as copyright restrictions that may pertain to these materials.
Even though all reasonable and customary best-practices have been pursued, this collection may contain materials with confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in this collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications (e.g., a cause of action under common law for invasion of privacy may arise if facts are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person) for which the SUNY Buffalo State assumes no responsibility.
[Description and dates], Box/folder number, The New York Geographical Association Records, Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State.
The New York State Geographical Association Collection was donated to Buffalo State College by the estate of Dr. Katheryne T. Whittemore. Dr. Whittemore (1899-1981) was an instructor and administrator at the College for thirty-seven years, serving specifically as a professor of geography from 1925-1962 and having been appointed to the newly-created post of director of the Division of Arts and Sciences in 1957. She was an active member of the New York State Geographical Association, of which she often assumed a leadership role in its meetings.
The New York State Geographical Association (NYSGA) first met in 1935, beginning as an informal organization of interested geographers, educators and students, with open membership. The stated "original purpose of the group was to promote research in the geography of New York State" (from folder 1-11). The NYSGA developed ties with state educational systems as well as the New York State Department of Education. Papers presented at the annual meetings highlighted the organization's scope and purpose, including scholarly and research topics and roundtables on local and state geography, settlement, conservation, soils, land utilization, water supply, weather, climate, economic geography, impressions of teaching through the world and travelogues. The collection reflects the academic interests and the socio-political atmosphere of the 1930s through the 1940s. Notably, no meetings were held during the War Years of 1943-1946.
The New York State Geographical Association remains an active organization; information that post-dates this collection as well as other data on NYSGA can be found at http://www.nysgaonline.org/.
The New York State Geographical Association Collections includes correspondence; meeting minutes, organizational data and papers presented; photographs; and miscellanea from its meetings between 1935 and 1947 as well as historical information and material relating to NYSGA's association with other organizations, such as the New York State Association of Teachers Colleges and Normal School Faculties, Geography Group, and the New York State Department of Education. Notably, several of Dr. Katheryne Whittemore's original papers are included; and additional data, interviews and reminiscences of hers are available in the Archives' administrative and biographical files. All NYSGA collection material dates 1935-1947.