The Sallie G. Randolph Presidential Biographies and Literature Collection
Sallie G. Randolph
Sallie G. Randolph
4 boxes; 3 linear ft.
Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
2018, Hope Dunbar
The Sallie G. Randolph Collection is open for research.
See Archivist for information on reproducing materials from this collection, including photocopies, digital camera images, or digital scans, as well as copyright restrictions that may pertain to these materials.
Even though all reasonable and customary best-practices have been pursued, this collection may contain materials with confidential information that is protected under federal or state right to privacy laws and regulations. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in this collection without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications (e.g., a cause of action under common law for invasion of privacy may arise if facts are published that would be deemed highly offensive to a reasonable person) for which the SUNY Buffalo State assumes no responsibility.
[Description and dates], Box/folder, The Sallie G. Randolph Presidential Biographies and Literature Collection, Archives & Special Collections Department, E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State.
A frequent speaker at programs for lawyers and writers, Sallie Randolph has taught law, writing and journalism in a variety of educational settings. At UB Law School she developed a copyright compliance and directed a publishing and copyright clinic. She has also taught media law for journalism majors at Buffalo State College and professional writing for numerous institutions.
Sallie Randolph is a member of the Bar Association of Erie County and a former chair of its Intellectual Property Committee. She is also a member of the New York State Bar Association, and belongs to several IP-related sections and committees.
Writers’ organizations of which she is a member include the American Society of Journalists and Authors (ASJA), Biographers International Organization (BIO), the Authors Guild, the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI), Romance Writers of America (RWA) and several others. She has served on the ASJA Board of Directors and as a former chair of its Legal Resources Committee.
Select publications include being the lead author of Author Law A to Z (Capital Books, 2005) and co-contributor of the legal chapter for The ASJA Guide to Freelance Writing: A Professional Guide to the Business, for Nonfiction Writers of All Experience Levels, edited by Timothy Harper (St. Martin's Griffin, 2003).
Her other book credits include: Gerald R. Ford, President (Walker, 1986); Richard M. Nixon, President (Walker, 1989); Woodrow Wilson, President (Walker, 1991); Putting on Perfect Proms, Programs and Pageants (Franklin Watts, 1991). She is co-author with Nancy O. Bolick of Shaker Inventions (Walker, 1990) and Shaker Villages (Walker, 1993). She has also written articles, travel pieces, short stories, and features for such publications as Ms., Outside, Grit, Good Housekeeping, Woman's World, Sports Parade, Off Duty, Bicycle Sport, Campaigns & Elections, Miami Herald, Buffalo News, Los Angeles Times, Louisville Courier-Journal, Cleveland Plain Dealer, and many others.
She was the editor for three years of the Sierra Atlantic, a 32-page half-tabloid official publication of the New York State (Atlantic Chapter) Sierra Club, circulation of 40,000+ where she solicited articles; coordinated efforts of volunteers; edited, typeset, laid out and pasted up the entire publication; handled advertising, billing, and relations with printer, mail house, chapter board of directors and supervising publications committee. She was an editorial consultant to the Arcade Herald, a respected weekly newspaper where she helped develop the reporting staff and implemented regular coverage of government, business, school, and community events and did investigative reporting, interviews, feature writing and photography.
Sallie holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication from Michigan State University and is a cum laude graduate of State University of New York at Buffalo School of Law (1995). –taken from http://www.authorlaw.com/ on 05/30/2018
The collection contains all research, writing, and materials surrounding the publication of two presidential biographies for children, as well as Putting on Perfect Proms, Programs and Pageants.
Biographical material, correspondence, drafts, manuscripts, newspaper clippings, photographs, research and planning notes.