Library: Buffalo State University Professional Development Schools: Education Research Resources through Butler Library

Primo ALL-Search

Primo ALL Search
Click here for the advanced search option. This option will search the entirety of the EH Butler Library Catalog. From eBooks and Digitized Scholarly Articles to all print material housed in the library, ALL Search is your way to find the material you need.
Try This Brief Primo ALL Search Interactive Tutorial!
Click here to begin a short interactive exercise that will help you learn to search for resources using Butler Library's ALL Search Feature!

ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Extensive full-text education content featuring comprehensive search results from a variety of sources.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in psychology and related fields going back to 1887.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychology Association and allied organizations.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles in all subject areas. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work (1970 - present).

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text reviews of children's books, and information on authors and illustrators, teaching materials, book awards, and more. Learn more about the Children's Literature Comprehensive Database at our CLCD LibGuide
Kids InfoBits (Gale in Context - Elementary) This link opens in a new window
Kids InfoBits is an educational resource with age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content designed to help young learners explore and gain comfort with database searching.

Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
The Chronicle is the top destination for news, advice, and jobs for people in academia. It features daily news, advice columns, job listings, an archive of previously published content, discussion forums, and career-building tools.
If you’re off campus, go to Chronicle.com and click on the “Log In” link at top, right-hand side of the web page (scroll to the bottom of the page on mobile devices). Choose the “Create an account now” option. Enter and confirm your campus e-mail address, then follow the steps on the account setup pages.

The Reading Teacher
Use EBSCO Academic Search Complete to Search The Reading Teacher: Peer-reviewed, for those involved with literacy education up to age 12. Takes active stance on issues of education today.

Mental Measurements Yearbook This link opens in a new window
The Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides comprehensive information and reviews of contemporary testing instruments in psychology, education, business, and leadership. It allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about testing products. The MMY series now includes the MMY Archive, providing access to all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938 through 2010.
Cabell's Directories of Academic Journals: Education Set This link opens in a new window
Directories of journals in education (including Educational Technology & Library Science; Educational Curriculum & Methods; and Educational Psychology & Administration) with detailed information on submitting manuscripts.

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Note Requires registering a free account once you access the database.
Please review this training guide for assistance with using Social Explorer.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
NCES School District Demographic Search
Search for demographic statistics compiled by the American Community Survey (US Census). Search for school district than select "School District Demographic Dashboard."
Explore Data - U.S. Census
Explore the U.S. Census Data Tools by utilizing tables, profiles, and other data sets. Formerly known as American Fact Finder, Data.Census helps you manually build sets of statistics to match your information needs.
Census My Congressional District
My Congressional District gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey (ACS) and County Business Patterns (CBP). The ACS provides detailed demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics every year for the nation's communities. CBP provides annual statistics for businesses with paid employees at a detailed geography and industry level. My Congressional District is powered by ACS and CBP data through the Census Application Programming Interface (API).
more...less...
Sources: 2019 American Community Survey 1-Year Estimates and 2019 County Business Patterns