HVAC construction project in the Butler Library

Project Completed

The HVAC project has been completed and all areas and collections are available again. This page will be archived after 90 days.

Thanks for your patience throughout the project.

Current Progress

For assistance with locating and retrieving books that my be inaccessible please contact us: https://library.buffalostate.edu/home/askus

• UPDATE 5/28/24
  The work is essentially complete and all areas and services have been restored. Thanks for your patience throughout this process.
   
• UPDATE 2/23/24
  During spring recess 3/25 - 3/30 the StudyQuad entrance (South entrance) may be closed. This is to allow the placement of some heavy machinery needed to complete the HVAC project.
   
• UPDATE 1/22/24
  Work on the south side of the building is complete. The books have been moved back in place in 2SE and 3SE. There are minor cleanup issues including the replacement of tables and chairs but the space is open and available to patrons. The main staircase and passenger elevator are back in service.
  
  Work has started on the north side of the building. The NW staircase is unavailable and the NE staircase and freight elevator will go offline in the coming days. Work has begun in earnest on 2NW and 3NW and may start in 2NE and 3NE earlier than expected in order to wrap up critical work as early as possible. Books in the NE quad have been moved to accommodate the work. New stack maps are being created.
   
• UPDATE 12/15/23  

  Work on the south side of the building is nearly complete. Most areas (including the stacks located on the second and third floor) will reopen next week. Stairwells and elevators on the South side of the building will reopen over the coming weeks as well.

  The book stacks that were moved as part of the first phases will be returned around the 16th of January. At the same time, impacted stacks will be moved in the NE and NW quads.

  As contractors wrap up the South side, work on the North side of the building is about to commence. Access to the NW quad will be restricted starting sometime during the week of 12/18. Library staff will continue to be able to pull requested books as needed.

Overview

As part of an upcoming construction project, sections of E. H. Butler Library will be inaccessible for about 15 months—from May 22, 2023, to August 23, 2024. The project will provide critical and necessary upgrades to the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning in the building. The work will mainly affect the book stack areas and Archives and Special Collections spaces, as well as various conference and storage rooms.

During the project, access to print books and other materials on the second and third floors of the library will be significantly constrained or offline for periods of time. Archives and Special Collections will also be intermittently inaccessible during the project.

Faculty members who would like to set aside certain books for student use for their classes during the construction are encouraged to contact Joe Riggie, head of information management, or Ken Fujiuchi, head of information commons. For questions regarding Archives and Special Collections, please contact Dan DiLandro, head of archives and special collections.

Construction on the second and third floors will start with the South East quad and move clockwise ending in the North West quad. In general terms, books will be unavailable according to the following schedule:

During these times access will be limited. Library staff will make every effort to provide access whenever possible.

This page will be updated as the project moves forward.