The following database links are the best bets for finding articles and other resources in LGBTQ+ Studies. Be advised that the Primo ALL-Search (see above box) will search almost all of these resources below. However, sometimes it is beneficial to search in a specific database. For questions please Ask a Librarian!
Provides abstracts and citations to Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender literature from various sources and includes full-text access to journals, magazines, newspapers, and books.
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
This link opens in a new windowGenderWatch™ offers a wide range of academic, gray, and popular literature covering topics such as gender roles, family, feminism, masculinity, and workplace issues. It represents a diverse range of voices and encompasses over three decades of gender studies, including women's and men's studies, the evolution of the women's movement, the transgender community, gender roles, differences, equity, identity, and masculinity.
These are best bets databases for primary and archival resources. Be advised that this does not include the vast resources in the Madeline Davis Archive located in the Butler Library and on the website.
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender is a historical collection for gender studies and sexuality education, facilitating new connections in LGBTQ history, cultural studies, psychology, health, political science, policy studies, and gender history.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a preservation repository that houses millions of volumes digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, and HathiTrust's partner institutions. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyrighted content. The library is maintained by relying on community standards, best practices, and open infrastructure.
Below are links to some video streaming platforms. For off-campus access, you will need to use your Buffalo State network login credentials. If you experience difficulties trying to access streaming video, please contact Chris Hulsman, electronic & educational resources librarian.
Academic Video Online: Premium offers over 20,000 hand-selected titles covering various departments and allows users to access content from over 500 producers globally.
