Faculty Civic and Community Engagement

From Journal of Community Engagement & Higher Education, 4(1). Article by Lewis, D. C., & Seponski, D. M. Access to Buffalo State Faculty & Students ONLY. Please sign in to access full text

From Review of Higher Education, 32(1), 73–106. Article by Weerts, S. Access to Buffalo State faculty and students only. Please sign in to access full text

In the face of a deepening economic and political crisis, the U.S. political and governing system is deadlocked. We need a new way forward. The old and tired government versus markets debate is just that—old and tired. It’s time for a broader mobilization of America’s civic resources, including the nonprofit sector and especially our colleges and universities.

From Journal of Community Engagement & Higher Education. Article by Stewart, A. L., Tomko, J. R., & Lassila, H. C. Access for Buffalo State Faculty and Students ONLY. Please sign in to access full text

From Journal of Community Engagement & Higher Education, 4(1), 1–9. Article by D.A. Silverman. Access to Buffalo State Faculty & Students ONLy. Please sign in to access full text

From Journal of Community Engagement & Higher Education, 4(1). Article by C.S. Paterson. Access to Buffalo State Faculty & Students ONLY. Please sign in to access full text

Using methods of discourse analysis, I analyzed examples of the word "community" from 25 of the most recent articles in the Michigan Journal of Community Service Learning. This analysis uncovered a variety of ways in which the university appears to be privileged over the community in the discourse of higher education community-based engagement. This paper discusses four themes emerging from the analysis that represent this privileging: community as a means by which the university enhances its academic work; community as a recipient of influence by the university; community as a place which the university makes better; and community as a factor in the financial interest of the university. By identifying these subtle yet troubling themes, I aim to inspire more community-focused research as well as to encourage scholars to reflect critically on how their discourses shape an evolving understanding of community-engaged practice.

This research involved the conduct of a conceptual review of 28 refereed journal articles and a survey of campus centers for community engagement staff to identify salient features and trends of existing faculty development programming designed to advance service-learning and community engagement in higher education. Results of this investigation are presented and discussed. The article begins with an overview of theoretical frameworks and competency-based approaches for faculty development. The narrative concludes with additional questions and suggestions for future research and practice.

E-service-learning (electronic service-learning)—a service-learning course wherein the instruction and/or the service occurs online—holds massive potential to transform both service-learning and online learning by freeing service-learning from geographical constraints and by equipping online learning with a powerful and much-needed tool to promote engagement.

The current interest in service learning provides universities with a unique opportunity to engage their students in community service, expand their educational agenda, and build reciprocal partnerships with the community. (Buffalo State Students, Faculty, & Staff Only)

In the context of true learning, the learners will be engaged in a continuous transformation through which they become authentic subjects of the construction and reconstruction of what is being taught, side by side with the teacher, who is equally subject to the same process. (Buffalo State Faculty, Staff, and Students Only)

"Justice-learning" lies at the intersection of service-learning and social justice education. Specifically, I argue for a distinctive form of community-based learning ("antifoundational service-learning") that fosters a justice-oriented framework ("anti-anti-social justice") that makes possible the questioning and disruption of unexamined and all too often oppressive binaries of how we view the struggle toward equity in education. The linkage of service-learning and social justice education in this manner offers a "weak overcoming" that strengthens experiential learning toward justice while avoiding the dilution and radicalization faced by both movements. I, thus, trace the linkages between service-learning and social justice education; explicate the potential of antifoundational service-learning as a form of anti-anti-social justice; and draw out the potential and implication of this linkage for both service-learning and social justice education.

As the California Campus Compact staff considered California’s challenging economic context in early 2009, they developed plans for the California Recovery and Renewal (CARE) initiative to address the issues they described in a grant proposal.

Bourelle, Tiffany
Technical communication quarterly, 2014-09-09, Vol.23 (4), p.247-264

Becnel, Kim ; Moeller, Robin A
Open learning, 2016-12-10, Vol.32 (1), p.56-65

Schwehm, Jeremy S ; Lasker-Scott, Tennille ; Elufiede, Oluwakemi
Online journal of distance learning administration, 2017, Vol.20 (1)

Nielsen, Danielle
Journal of technical writing and communication, 2016-03-14, Vol.46 (2), p.236-256

McWhorter, Rochell R ; Delello, Julie A ; Roberts, Paul B
Journal of interactive online learning, 2016, Vol.14 (2), p.80

Helms, Marilyn M ; Rutti, Raina M ; Hervani, Aref Agahei ; LaBonte, Joanne ; Sarkarat, Sy
Journal of education for business, 2015-08-20, Vol.90 (7), p.369-378

Pike, Pamela D
International journal of music education, 2017-02, Vol.35 (1), p.107-117

Early, Jody ; Lasker, Grace A
Pedagogy in health promotion, 2017-09-14, Vol.4 (3), p.218-226

Bukas Marcus, Valerie ; Azean Atan, Noor ; Mohd Yusof, Sanitah ; Tahir, Lokman
International journal of interactive mobile technologies, 2020-04-17, Vol.14 (6), p.4-14

The leading international journal in its field, covering a wide range of topics, reviewing significant developments and providing a forum for cutting-edge debates about theory and practice.

Professional peer reviewed publication of the Department of Agricultural and Human Sciences at North Carolina State University in Raleigh. Published only in digital formats, IJOVA is offered in recognition of the critical role of professional managers of volunteers in mobilizing human resources to address serious human, community, and social needs through volunteerism.

The Journal of Community Practice is an interdisciplinary journal grounded in social welfare. The journal provides a forum for community practice, including community organizing, planning, social administration, organizational development, community development, social action, and social change.

Peer-reviewed and published bi-monthly, an international, interdisciplinary journal for nonprofit sector research dedicated to enhancing our knowledge of nonprofit organizations, philanthropy, and voluntarism by providing cutting-edge research, discussion, and analysis of the field. NVSQ provides a forum for researchers from around the world to publish timely articles from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.

The Partnership Matters Journal explores a range of topics in cross-sector partnerships and drew on the work on those involved in the IBLF and University of Cambridge Programme for Industry Post-graduate Certificate in Cross-Sector Partnerships programme.

Voluntas, the official journal of the International Society for Third-Sector Research (ISTR), is an interdisciplinary journal that provides a central forum for worldwide research in the area between the state, market, and household sectors.