Fundamentals of Government Information by
Government data and resources are uniquely useful to researchers and other library users. But without a roadmap, sifting through the sheer quantity of information to find the right answers is foolhardy. The first edition of this text is well established as an essential navigational tool for both LIS students and professionals; now this newly revised, peer-reviewed update is even more attuned to new sources and types of government information and how best to locate them. Unmatched in its scope, this book covers such key topics as- the history of government information, from its colorful beginnings to the era of Wikileaks, Edward Snowden, and data breaches;- how to think like a government documents librarian in order to find information efficiently, plus other research tips;- all types of law resources and information, including public laws and the U.S. Code, Case Law and the judicial branch, and regulations;- Congressional literature, from bills and committee hearings to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set;- patents, trademarks, and intellectual property;- census data, educational information, and other statistical resources;- health information, with an in-depth look at the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act and the trend toward and impact of online medical records; and- science, environmental, and energy resources from agencies like the Environmental Protection Agency and the Department of Energy.Exercises throughout the text support instruction, while the approachable and well-organized style make it ideal for day-to-day reference use.
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Census by
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Census represents a unique and definitive collaboration among more than 80 leading experts on all aspects of the U.S. Census. Drawing from academia, government, and the private sector, CQ Press and the editorial board have commissioned more than 100 concise, definitive articles on the decennial census and related topics. Subjects covered include: Content of the census. What the census tracks, and when it began to ask specific questions; how questions are formulated, and factors that affect which questions are asked; other types of censuses (housing, economic, and agricultural). Procedure. How the census is planned, advertised, and conducted; state and local involvement; how results are tabulated and stored. Uses of the census. Publications, databases, and electronic products that provide census information for statistical and demographic research; archiving of census records and genealogical use of census schedules. Census history. Census taking in America from colonial times to the present and at each census; population trends over time, including changes in family composition; racial and ethnic groups; and the social, economic, and educational status of the population. Politics of the census. Effect of census data on congressional districts and funding of federal programs; controversies: from slavery and the three-fifths compromise in 1790, to the use of statistical sampling in 2000. Other features include a 16-page photo collection that visually shows the census evolution, and an extensive glossary of terms. An appendix of useful information and a detailed index round out the volume. Most articles include references for further reading; many also point the reader to online resources for census information.
Every 10 years, the U.S. Census Bureau conducts a census to determine the number of people living in the United States. The U.S. Census Bureau conducts the census in years ending in zero, on Census Day, which is April 1.
The data collected by the decennial census are used to apportion the number of seats each state has in the U.S. House of Representatives. The first U.S. census was in 1790 during the first term of our first president, George Washington. Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson led the effort. The population was 3,929,625, and Congress used these results to apportion 105 seats among 15 states. Additionally, the Census is required by the Constitution.
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. Information from the survey generates data that help determine how more than $675 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.
Through the ACS, we know more about jobs and occupations, educational attainment, veterans, whether people own or rent their homes, and other topics. Public officials, planners, and entrepreneurs use this information to assess the past and plan the future. When you respond to the ACS, you are doing your part to help your community plan for hospitals and schools, support school lunch programs, improve emergency services, build bridges, and inform businesses looking to add jobs and expand to new markets, and more.
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Note Requires registering a free account once you access the database.
Please review this training guide for assistance with using Social Explorer.
Below is a group of links for each Census information topic
