Skip to main content

E. H. Butler Library, Buffalo State, The State University of New York

Collection Development: Policies for Specific Categories of Material

Policies for Specific Categories of Material

Periodicals

"Periodical" is defined as "a publication appearing or intended to appear indefinitely at regular or stated intervals, generally more frequently than annually, each issue of which is numbered or dated consecutively and normally contains separate articles, stories, or other writings." A periodical can be published in print, online, or both.
 
Periodicals will be selected according to the criteria outlined in the Specific Criteria section above. Periodicals require special care because each order entails the commitment of future funds for its continuance, not only at the original cost, but with an added inflationary factor. Periodical subscriptions also incur costs such as processing, replacement of missing numbers, and binding. Therefore, Butler Library very rarely orders print periodicals. Electronic periodicals will be considered if they are not included in an available database and if there is a strong need or connection to the curriculum. 
 
The following procedure will be followed as part of the review of new periodical or database requests:

  1. The library may ask the requesting department to provide a list of titles recommended for cancellation, unless the subscriptions are for new or developing programs.
  2. Titles recommended for cancellation will be placed on a list to be circulated to academic departments or units and librarians.
  3. If the recommended titles are canceled, the new request will be considered for purchase.
  4. If the recommended titles are not canceled by the requesting department, the new journal requests will require special consideration.
  5. Once a journal is canceled, it will not be reinstated unless procedures for requesting new subscriptions are followed.

 

New Formats and Costly Materials

Requests for new formats or costly materials shall be decided with consultation among the Collection Development Committee, the Head of Acquisitions, the head of the affected department, and any other interested librarians or members of the faculty. The decision shall be made according to the guidelines for purchase and include consideration of the related expenses. The Committee may recommend that an item be evaluated during a free, limited trial period before deciding to purchase new formats or costly materials.

Duplicates

As a general rule, E. H. Butler Library will purchase one copy of any item that meets the criteria of collection development. Additional copies may be ordered when professional judgment indicates a need. Normally, three is the highest number of copies that would be purchased for Reserve, and two is the limit for other collections.

In addition, the SUNY Coordinated Collection Development Program discourages libraries from purchasing a physical book which is owned by at least three other SUNY libraries. Butler Library follows this recommendation, but may make exceptions for high-use titles or other unusual circumstances.

Gifts

Gifts of funds to support resource development are encouraged. They will be sought and received in cooperation with the Buffalo State Foundation and in accordance with the legal requirements of the State University of New York and  SUNY Buffalo State.
 
The Library selectively accepts gifts of appropriate materials. Donors will be directed to the Acquisitions Librarian. The Library does not accept physical journals or serials. In addition to the basic collection development guidelines, the nature of the material, its physical condition, its age, and the probable processing costs will be considered.
 
Materials acquired through a grant may be accepted by E. H. Butler Library. All gifts become the property of the Library. Some gift items will be added to the collection, while others, because they duplicate current holdings or do not meet the selection criteria, may be given to a more appropriate library, sold with the monies designated for building the collection, or disposed of properly. The library is not obligated to hold any gifted materials in perpetuity, and gift items in the collection will be subjected to standard deselection procedures. 
 
Gifts will be acknowledged in a letter if specifically requested by the donor. Appraisals and/or lists of books donated are the responsibility of donors and must be completed before the donation is made to the Library. Donors should consult their tax advisors about the need for a professional appraisal. In compliance with the policy of State University of New York and in accordance with the recommendation of the Association of College and Research Libraries, E. H. Butler Library cannot appraise gifts. 

Textbooks

Textbooks are defined as manuals of instruction which may contain student exercises and suggestions for further work or further reading. Generally speaking, E. H. Butler Library will not collect textbooks, unless they constitute a principal written source for the subject.
 
Textbooks and other materials which an instructor requires students to purchase for a course are primarily the responsibility of the student. The Library may acquire such titles, but it will not make a systematic effort to add all items which students are asked to obtain. Instructors who would like a copy to be available in the library for their students may elect to place a personal copy on reserve. 

Unpublished/Self-published Works

At this moment, Butler Library does not collect self-published works (except those donated by faculty), due to the additional work involved in processing them.

Faculty Publications

The Library’s policy is to purchase publications written by current faculty of Buffalo State. Faculty publications may be placed in the Faculty Publications section of Archives and Special Collections, or the in library’s main collection.

Alumni Works

While we are happy when alumni works match our selection criteria, we are unable to create a collection dedicated to the acquisition of all alumni works or to commit to purchasing all alumni works at this time.

Buffalo State logo
E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
1300 Elmwood Ave, Buffalo, NY 14222
Phone: (716) 878 6300
Fax: (716) 878-3134
Accessibility Policy

Facebook
Twitter