Skip to main content

E. H. Butler Library, Buffalo State, The State University of New York

Collection Development: Special Library Collections

Special Library Collections

Archives and Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections maintains a collection development policy separate from the general Butler Library collection.

Find out more about Archives and Special Collections at their website: https://library.buffalostate.edu/archives

Creative Studies Collection

This non-circulating collection includes books, journals, and miscellaneous materials. The materials support the curricula of the International Center for Studies in Creativity. Insofar as funds permit, books acquired for the Creative Studies Collection will be duplicated in the general collection.  A librarian will be assigned to develop the collection, in consultation with the Collection Development Committee, and to provide assistance in its use.

Curriculum Materials Laboratory

The Curriculum Materials Laboratory is a special collection of print materials and teaching materials at the elementary and secondary school level. It is intended to enrich the resources available to education majors, teachers, and other professionals who work with children. Adult reference works and works of pedagogy will be housed in the general collection.
 
Fiction and Non-Fiction: The library will order children’s and young adults’ fiction and non-fiction using the materials budget. All materials added to this collection will be cataloged and classified and they will circulate. The collection is intended to be a representative sampling of the type of materials used by elementary and secondary school students. If possible, award-winning titles will be ordered.

Textbooks: The Library will acquire textbook series gratis from publishers, if possible, and from the Curriculum Lab materials budget. The Curriculum Materials Lab Librarian is responsible for obtaining gratis textbooks. The collection will be current; older or superseded textbooks will be discarded.

Media

The Library may purchase DVDs or license streaming media that support the current curriculum. Duplicate materials policies still apply – titles available through an electronic database may be deselected or disapproved for addition to the collection. 

The Library does not purchase public performance rights. All materials will be purchased with appropriate license and will be circulated with strict adherence to that license. The Library will not convert materials in obsolete formats to current formats.

Microforms

E. H. Butler Library will no longer add microform materials to the collection.

Buffalo State logo
E. H. Butler Library, SUNY Buffalo State
1300 Elmwood Ave, Buffalo, NY 14222
Phone: (716) 878 6300
Fax: (716) 878-3134
Accessibility Policy

Facebook
Twitter