READING ZINES
LOCATING ZINE RESOURCES
The zine collection is currently designated for classroom use only and is non-circulating. If you are interested in accessing the zine collection, please contact Julie Setele.
To find out more information about each zine in our collection, view the zine catalog here and browse by subject tag here. There are a variety of topics to discover as we continue to add new zines to our collection.
All of these books are available here at Buffalo State.
Girl Zines by
With names like The East Village Inky, Mend My Dress, Dear Stepdad, and I'm So Fucking Beautiful, zines created by girls and women over the past two decades make feminism’s third wave visible. These messy, photocopied do-it-yourself documents cover every imaginable subject matter and are loaded with handwriting, collage art, stickers, and glitter. Though they all reflect the personal style of the creators, they are also sites for constructing narratives, identities, and communities. Girl Zines is the first book-length exploration of this exciting movement. Alison Piepmeier argues that these quirky, personalized booklets are tangible examples of the ways that girls and women ‘do’ feminism today. The idiosyncratic, surprising, and savvy arguments and issues showcased in the forty-six images reproduced in the book provide a complex window into feminism’s future, where zinesters persistently and stubbornly carve out new spaces for what it means to be a revolutionary and a girl. Girl Zines takes zines seriously, asking what they can tell us about the inner lives of girls and women over the last twenty years.
Call Number: Stacks ; PN4836 .P54 2009ISBN: 9780814767511Publication Date: 2009-11-18
Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? by
A zine is a handmade magazine or mini-comic about anything you can imagine: favorite bands, personal stories, subcultures, or collections. They contain diary entries, rants, interviews, and stories. They can be by one person or many, found in stores, traded at comic conventions, exchanged with friends, or given away for free. Zines are not a new idea: they've been around for years under various names (chapbooks, flyers, pamphlets). People with independent ideas have been getting their word out since before there were printing presses. This book is for anyone who wants to create their own zine. It's for learning tips and tricks from contributors who have been at the fore front of the zine movement. It's for getting inspired to put thoughts and ideas down on paper. It's for learning how to design and print your own zine so you can put it in others' hands. Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? is for anyone who has something to say.
Call Number: Stacks ; Z286.Z54 T63 2006ISBN: 9780618563159Publication Date: 2006-06-26
The Riot Grrrl Collection by
For the past two decades, young women (and men) have found their way to feminism through Riot Grrrl - more than a genre, but a movement in its own right. Against the backdrop of the culture wars and before the rise of the Internet or desktop publishing, the 'zine and music culture of the Riot Grrrl movement empowered young women to speak out against sexism and oppression. The movement created a powerful new force of liberation and unity within and outside of the women's movement. This is a collection of the original material of the Riot Grrrl movement.
Call Number: Stacks ; ML3534 .R536 2013ISBN: 9781558618220Publication Date: 2013-06-11
Making Feminist Media by
Making Feminist Media provides new ways of thinking about the vibrant media and craft cultures generated by Riot Grrrl and feminism's third wave. It focuses on a cluster of feminist publications--including BUST, Bitch, HUES, Venus Zine, and Rockrgrl--that began as zines in the 1990s. By tracking their successes and failures, this book provides insight into the politics of feminism's recent past. Making Feminist Media brings together interviews with magazine editors, research from zine archives, and analysis of the advertising, articles, editorials, and letters to the editor found in third-wave feminist magazines. It situates these publications within the long history of feminist publishing in the United States and Canada and argues that third-wave feminist magazines share important continuities and breaks with their historical forerunners. These publishing lineages challenge the still-dominant--and hotly contested-- wave metaphor categorization of feminist culture. The stories, struggles, and strategies of these magazines not only represent contemporary feminism, they create and shape feminist cultures. The publications provide a feminist counter-public sphere in which the competing interests of editors, writers, readers, and advertisers can interact. Making Feminist Media argues that reading feminist magazines is far more than the consumption of information or entertainment: it is a profoundly intimate and political activity that shapes how readers understand themselves and each other as feminist thinkers.
ISBN: 9781771121200Publication Date: 2016-08-30
Information Activism by
For decades, lesbian feminists across the United States and Canada have created information to build movements and survive in a world that doesn't want them. In Information Activism Cait McKinney traces how these women developed communication networks, databases, and digital archives that formed the foundation for their work. Often learning on the fly and using everything from index cards to computers, these activists brought people and their visions of justice together to organize, store, and provide access to information. Focusing on the transition from paper to digital-based archival techniques from the 1970s to the present, McKinney shows how media technologies animate the collective and unspectacular labor that sustains social movements, including their antiracist and trans-inclusive endeavors. By bringing sexuality studies to bear on media history, McKinney demonstrates how groups with precarious access to control over information create their own innovative and resourceful techniques for generating and sharing knowledge.
ISBN: 1478009330Publication Date: 2020-07-17
Documenting Rebellions by
Documenting Rebellions is a study of four archives that were constituted with a common desire to preserve the memory and evidence of lesbian and gay people. They are The Lesbian Herstory Archives (New York), The ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives (Los Angeles), the June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives (West Hollywood), and the ArQuives: Canada's LGBTQ2+ Archives (Toronto). Using a narrative approach that draws from first-person accounts and archival research, each chapter tells a story about how these organizations came to exist, who has supported them over time, and how they have survived for more than forty years. This book is the result of a five-year project that began in 2012 and builds on the author's own experience working with lesbian and gay archives. In Documenting Rebellions, Sheffield places lesbian and gay archives in the context of changing political opportunity structures that have afforded a liberal lesbian and gay rights movement some successes while continuing to marginalize intersectional, queer and trans people. The goal of this study is not to critique these organizations, but to show how this cohort of community archives has been affected by the very same combination of socio-political and economic factors that shape the cultural histories that they preserve. Documenting Rebellions consider the material needs of archives - space, money, and expertise - that are sometimes rendered invisible by the idiosyncratically subjective cultural theory model of 'the archive' that has emerged from within interdisciplinary studies. By tracing the emergence and development of these organizations, Sheffield uncovers representational politics, institutional pluralism, generational divides, shifting national politics, interpersonal relationships, and challenges with sustainability, both financial and otherwise. Rebecka Taves Sheffield is an archivist and archival educator based in Hamilton, Ontario. She has taught in graduate programs at Simmons University School of Library and Information Science, for the University of Toronto iSchool, and for Library Juice Academy. Presently, she is a senior policy advisor for the Archives of Ontario and works on digital recordkeeping strategies. Rebecka previously served as the Executive Director for the ArQuives (formerly the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives), where she spent the better part of a decade learning as much as possible about Canada's LGBTQ2+ histories. She has studied sociology, gender studies, publishing, and archives. She completed a PhD in information studies and sexual diversity studies at the University of Toronto.
ISBN: 1634000919Publication Date: 2019-11-01
Zine distros (distribution) are places that carry zines for purchase. If you have created a zine and want to have it available for others to buy, you can contact any of these distros to see if they are interested in adding your zine(s) to their website.
- Antiquated FutureActivism, feminist, mental health, and DIY zines.
- Back Pocket Pressback pocket press is a zine distro and community printing press established in ypsilanti, michigan in 2013. we are passionate about the transformative power of self-published, printed media and the liberatory history of zines. coming from a queer, anarchist, feminist background, we aim to amplify access to certain texts (and occasionally other medias) through small-batch, independent, radical printing and distribution.
- Boston Anarchist Black CrossBoston Anarchist Black Cross functions as the defensive arm of local anarchist struggles. We work to forge an organized support network for local activists in need and for folks behind bars. We seek the total abolition of prisons and work on projects in support of this cause.
- Brown Recluse Zine Distro"Brown Recluse Zine Distro was created to support + center zines written by queer and trans people of color; BRZD was born was born in the spirit of visibility + in the spirit of celebrating our cultures. Brown Recluse exists to strengthen our ties + highlight our intersectional, relatable experiences."
- Burning Books"Burning Books is a radical bookstore in Buffalo, NY. We opened in September of 2009 on the anniversary of the Attica prison uprising. We focus exclusively on social justice issues and work to support individuals and movements that are struggling against oppression and domination in all its forms. We have a highly curated selection of titles dealing with activism, race, antifascism, environmentalism, colonialism, indigenisim, capitalism, feminism, queer studies, animal liberation, class, disability, and more; including books for children, middle graders, and young adults. We also carry posters, games and gift items - all following our mission of social justice and sustainability."
- honey boy press"honey boy press is a zine distro working and growing on occupied Chumash lands and water, alta califas. honey boy press works with emerging zinesters and miscellaneous creatives of all types to create and share their ideas as zines. we work to center those muiltiply marginalized perspectives excluded from mainstream art and publishing."
- Pen Fight DistroPen Fight is a queer and feminist zine and book shop, and tiny press. Selling zines, radical books, badges, art, and more.
- Portland Button WorksFeminist, DIY, political, and perzines out of Portland, Oregon. The owner, Alex Wrekk, writes the Brainscan zine series.
- Quimby's BookstoreMassive collection of zines, running the gamut of possible topics out of Chicago, Illinois.
- Silver SprocketSilver Sprocket is an independent publisher championing socially conscious and independently produced comic books, graphic novels, and related arts. Originally a punk music label, Silver Sprocket transitioned to publishing comics in 2016. Since then, we have built a home for original, artist-owned work, including Your Black Friend and Other Strangers by Ben Passmore, Catboy by Benji Nate, Be Kind, My Neighbor by Yugo Limbo, and American Cult edited by Robyn Chapman.
- Wasted Ink Zine DistroWIZD is a small zine library and store located in Phoenix, Arizona. We serve as a home base for Arizona Zinesters looking for a DIY hub and creative space with vibrant community, events, connections, and ZINES.
Want to make zine friends? Share your zine with others? Check out the following sites.
- Ace Zine Archive Project"This is an online space dedicated to making ace and ace-related zines more accessible."
- Barnard Zine LibraryZine library at Barnard College in NYC
- Brown and Proud Press"Brown and Proud Press is a collective of people of color with a myriad of identities. Currently, we are queer chicanxs, working-class hard femmes, mixed, intersex, brown, and gender non-conforming latinxs. We write to resist. We disclose to survive. We share our personal narratives and experiences as a mode of collective healing. We piece them together as a catalyst for social change. Our zine-making began in 2011."
- Buffalo ZineFest 2024Local zine fest held annually in Buffalo, NY
- Jewish Zine ArchiveThe Jewish Zine Archive began in 2019 and is a physical & digital archive for zines made by writers & artists who identify as or with Jewishness and/or Judaism. (Be sure to follow their instagram to see the newest materials!)
- PaperCut Virtual LibraryBrowse zines from the extensive (over 17,000 zines) collection based in Cambridge, MA at the Democracy Center.
- POC Zine Project"Mission: To make all zines by people of color easy to find, distribute and share. POCZP is an experiment in activism and community through materiality."
- Project NIA"Launched in 2009, Project NIA is an advocacy, organizing, popular education, research, and capacity-building center with the long-term goal of ending youth incarceration. We believe that several simultaneous approaches are necessary in order to develop and sustain community-based alternatives to the system of policing and incarceration. Our mission is to dramatically reduce the reliance on arrest, detention, and incarceration for addressing youth crime and to instead promote the use of restorative and transformative practices, a concept that relies on community-based alternatives."
- Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP)"The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."
- Sherwood Forest Virtual LibraryCheck out our collection of hundreds of free downloadable pdfs and links to online readable zines!
- Small Science CollectiveA collaboration of scientists, artists, students, and anyone else interested in science, this project produces small zines and web comics on a variety of topics . Read online, download zines, and share your ideas!
- ZineLibraries.infoA community of zine librarians!
- Quarantine Zine Club"This online zine library is a collection of zines donated by zinemakers from around the world. Take some time and have a browse at your leisure... If you would like to support any of these zinemakers, you can find links to their website, social media accounts and other online platforms listed below their name."
How to make a disorientation zine
Here are a few examples from colleges and universities:
- The Liberator: A Disorientation Manual 1970
Possibly the first Disorientation Zine?!? Links to Springfield College Archives and Special Collections CONTENTdm site.
- Macalester Disorientation Zine 2021
"Disorientation 2.0: AN ALTERNATIVE STUDENT HANDBOOK" (Includes links to printable PDFs).
- Oberlin College Disorientation Zines 2016
Includes links to printable PDF of Oberlin Disorientation Zine 2016.
- UC Berkeley Disorientation Zine (2003, 2004)
"The Disorientation Zine for the UC, Berkeley campus has been published by Slingshot and the Long Haul for about 10 years and is a guide to incoming students about existing community collectives and organizations that they can plug into and become involved with or simply learn about so that they may attend their events if they so desire."
- UC Santa Cruz Disorientation Guide 2011-2012
Links to printable PDF.
- University of Pennsylvania Disorientation Guide 2022
Links to student-produced Disorientation Zine from 2022, with links to previous activism.
- University of Washington Disorientation Zine 2013
With links to printable color PDF zine!
- Barnard/Columbia Disorientation Guides, 2016-2021
Links to issuu account of the Barnard/Columbia Disorientation Guide, including years 2016; 2017; 2018; 2019, 2021.
- Washington University Disorientation Guide 2015
Links to Washington University Disorientation Guide on issuu.
- UNC - Chapel Hill Disorientation Guide 2014-2015
Links to printable PDF of the 2014-15 UNC - Chapel Hill Disorientation Guide.
- University of Minnesota Disorientation Guide
Links to website of Minnesota's disorientation guides, including readable online, and printable PDFs.
ZINES MADE AT BUTLER LIBRARY
This zine was created by Julie Setele with contributions from all of the librarians included in the zine. You can download a copy below, along with some of the other zines Julie has made.
- Meet Your Librarians!Meet the librarians at SUNY Buffalo State University's Butler Library!
- Buttons at Butler!A minizine about BOTH the archival collection of buttons contained in the Madeline Davis LGBTQ Archive of Western New York AND the buttons we've made at Butler Library
- Social Justice Book Club minizineA minizine about the Social Justice Book Club that we run out of Butler Library. More info about the book club is available on their website: https://library.buffalostate.edu/sjbookclub
- LIB 389 syllabus minizineZine version of the syllabus for Julie Setele's fall 2024 class Social Justice Through Zines (LIB 389 / WGS 389)
