Find Articles & Resources on Shakespeare
Using Primo ALL-Search
Primo ALL Search
Use these links to search through ALL of Butler Libraries resources, digital & physical.
- Primo ALL Search
Click here for the advanced search option. This option will search the entirety of the EH Butler Library Catalog. From eBooks and Digitized Scholarly Articles to all print material housed in the library, ALL Search is your way to find the material you need.
How to Use Primo ALL-Search:
The following video will introduce you to best practices when searching in Primo ALL-Search. Your professor may direct you to a specific database to find scholarly material on Shakespeare. But Primo ALL-Search is a great place to start
VIDEO TUTORIAL: USING ALL-SEARCH
Best Databases - Finding Scholarly Articles on Shakespeare
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.7 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowCovers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
As the most comprehensive resource available in its field, Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities.
High Impact Peer-Reviewed Journals on Shakespearean Studies
- Shakespeare Quarterly
Shakespeare Quarterly is a peer-reviewed academic journal established in 1950 by the Shakespeare Association of America. It is now under the auspices of the Folger Shakespeare Library. Along with book and performance criticism, Shakespeare Quarterly incorporates scholarly research and essays on Shakespeare and the age in which he worked, particularly those that explore new perspectives. It includes a special section devoted to the latest ideas in Shakespeare scholarship. - Shakespeare Studies
Shakespeare Studies is a peer-reviewed volume published annually in hard cover featuring the work of performance scholars, literary critics and cultural historians across the globe. The journal focuses attention primarily on Shakespeare and his contemporaries, but embraces theoretical and historical studies of socio-political, intellectual and artistic contexts that extend well beyond the early modern English theatrical milieu in both space and time. In addition to articles, Shakespeare Studies offers unique opportunities for extended intellectual exchange through its thematically-focused forums, and includes substantial reviews of significant publications. - Shakespeare (British Shakespeare Association)
Shakespeare, published by Routledge under the auspices of the British Shakespeare Association, is a leading international journal of Shakespeare studies and criticism. The journal is published online four times a year, with all four issues bound and printed once a year.
