Library: International Students: Databases

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Standard, academic reference sources on a variety of topics.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

General Databases

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints in Context supports virtually any curricular need. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue and help students develop critical thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, etc. Contains current full text scholarly journals which cover these fields and a significant collection of recent scholarly books.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search for citations to scholarly journal articles in all subject areas. Conduct cited reference searches for articles that cite a previously published work (1970 - present).

News & Current Events

Buffalo News Online via NewsBank This link opens in a new window
NewsBank coverage of the Buffalo News. NewsBank provides image access from 2018 to present and web edition content from 2017 to present. HTML access dates back to 1989.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch™ is the only current database devoted to presenting multi-ethnic and multi-cultural publications in one resource. The publications offer both national and regional coverage.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of the archive of this weekly British periodical. Covers 1842 to 2003.
NewsBank America's News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues including transcripts, articles, and major newspapers across America.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Covers News, Legal, and Business domains. Contains full text of newspaper and journal articles, court cases, legal briefs, business information and more. Content in this database is NOT currently included in ALL-Search
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Resource covering national & international newspapers
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from June 1, 1980 through the present in Lexis Nexis. For information on gaining full access to The New York Times' website through Butler Library, see instructions here.

Curious About Other Countries?

Encyclopedia of World Cultures This link opens in a new window
This reference set lists and describes more than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political, economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every existing culture.
A to Z Maps Online This link opens in a new window
Thousands of proprietary, royalty-free world, continent, country, and state maps. Includes political, physical, outline, population, precipitation, climate, and other thematic maps.

International Students: Databases

Menu

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

General Databases

News & Current Events

Curious About Other Countries?